COP25

UN Climate Change Conference 2019 in Madrid

 

Between 2 and 13 December 2019 the member states of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change will meet for the 25th World Climate Conference (COP25) in Madrid.

COP25 will take place under the official slogan »Time for Action«. This rallying cry is intended to encourage the member states to step up their climate policy ambitions and increase their nationally defined contributions (NDCs).

Concrete progress is expected as regards climate financing and key aspects of the Paris framework, such as Article 6 (designing international cooperation mechanisms), the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage and the transparency framework. Furthermore, topics such as the nexus of climate policy and sustainable development, the emerging debate on climate justice and the importance of the oceans will be discussed intensively, also against the background of recent scientific findings, as presented in this year’s two IPCC special reports.

The FES will also be in Spain. We are organising a number of events, briefings and network meetings with our partners on climate and energy policy and supporting voices from the Global South.

The original plan was to hold COP25 in Santiago, Chile, but because of domestic unrest there it was switched to Madrid at short notice. But while the Spanish government is the technical host, the conduct of substantive negotiations still lies with Chile, an arrangement similar to the one at COP23, when Germany was the technical host and Fiji held the COP presidency.

In order to boost environmental and climate journalism worldwide the international organisation Climate Tracker trains talented young journalists in media research, innovative campaign planning and data analysis within the framework of the UN climate negotiations.

This year we have granted four FES media scholarships and we are delighted that Andrea A. Gálvez from Spain, Kartik Chandramouli from India, Petr Vodsedalek from the Czech Republic and Leopold Obi from Kenya will accompany us to Madrid. They will be looked after by Climate Tracker, receive media training on climate policy, attend our FES events and report on COP25.

And what is going on in Chile in the meantime? Despite the shifting of COP25 the planned alternative summit of social movements and civil society will still take place in Santiago de Chile. Over nine days 100 activities are planned, including lectures, workshops and artistic performances. The FES is also present in Santiago de Chile and will host a number of events.

Here we shall report on negotiations, expectations and assessments.

Climate policy work of the FES
Shaping a Just World

Climate policy work of the FES

more

Reports on the World Climate Conference 2019

12.12.2019 | Gender Weltweit | Climate Change, Energy and Environment | News

Is COP25 feminist?

Gender should be negotiated at the highest level at COP25. But what has happened so far?


Read more
 
10.12.2019 | Die Welt gerecht gestalten | Climate Change, Energy and Environment | News

FES@COP25: Call For 100% Renewable Energy

Renewable energy as a great opportunity for the Global South: fair, affordable, socially and climate-friendly. What does a just transition look like?


Read more
 
03.12.2019 | Die Welt gerecht gestalten | Climate Change, Energy and Environment | News

Welcome to Madrid

So much to talk about and so many unclarified issues to be negotiated. Why this COP is so important and what we may expect from it.


Read more
 

Infographic

Retrospective

COP24

COP24

Reports and Assessments from Climate Change Conference 2018 in Katowice. more

COP 23
Retrospective

COP 23

Reports and Assessments from Climate Change Conference 2017 in Bonn. more

Publications on Climate Change and Energy Policy

Jobelius, Matthias

Green recovery and social democracy

Programmatic challenges for a climate-neutral Europe
Berlin, 2020

Download publication (100 KB, PDF-File)


Clean heat in the MENA region

Status report
Amman, 2020

Download publication (6,5 MB PDF-File)


Venjakob, Maike; Wagner, Oliver; Adisorn, Thomas

Transformation processes of energy companies

Application to Jordan : Study on behalf of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung
Amman, 2020

Download publication (17 MB, PDF-File)


The Conference of the Parties (COP)

The Conference of the Parties (COP) is the annual meeting of the member states of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The UNFCCC was adopted at the UN Environmental and Development Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992, and the parties have met to discuss answers and solutions to fighting climate change multilaterally and at international level since 1995. Particularly far-reaching climate policy decisions were taken at the third COP (COP3) in Kyoto, known as the Kyoto Protocol, and at COP21 in Paris, which resulted in the Paris Agreement.

nach oben

COP25

Weltklimakonferenz 2019 in Madrid

Zwischen dem 2. und 13. Dezember 2019 treffen sich die Mitgliedsstaaten der UN-Klimarahmenkonvention zur 25. Weltklimakonferenz (COP25) in Madrid.

Die COP25, steht unter dem offiziellen Motto „Time for Action“. Dieser Appell soll die Staaten dazu motivieren, ihre klimapolitischen Ambitionen zu schärfen sowie ihre national festgelegten Minderungsbeiträge (NDCs) zu steigern.

Erwartet werden konkrete Fortschritte in puncto Klimafinanzierung und bei zentralen Aspekten des Pariser Regelwerks wie dem Artikel 6 (Gestaltung internationale Kooperationen), dem Warschauer Internationalen Mechanismus für Verluste und Schäden sowie dem Transparenzrahmen. Darüber hinaus werden Themen wie der Nexus von Klimapolitik und nachhaltiger Entwicklung, die aufkommende Debatte um Klimagerechtigkeit sowie die Bedeutung von Ozeanen sicherlich auch vor dem Hintergrund jüngster wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse wie den beiden diesjährigen IPCC Sonderberichten intensiv diskutiert.

Ursprünglich war die COP25 in Santiago, Chile geplant, jedoch aufgrund innenpolitischer Unruhen kurzfristig nach Madrid verlegt worden.  Dabei springt die spanische Regierung als technische Gastgeberin ein, die inhaltliche Verhandlungsführung liegt weiterhin bei Chile – eine ähnliche Konstellation wie bei der COP23, als Deutschland technischer Gastgeber war und Fidschi die COP-Präsidentschaft stellte.

Auch die FES wird in Spanien sein. Wir organisieren mit unseren Partnern mehrere Veranstaltungen, Briefings und Netzwerktreffen zu Klima- und Energiepolitik und unterstützen Stimmen aus dem Globalen Süden.

Und was passiert derweil in Chile? Trotz Verlegung der COP25 findet der geplante Alternativgipfel der sozialen Bewegungen und der Zivilgesellschaft in Chile statt. In neun Tagen sind 100 Aktivitäten wie Vorträge, Workshops und künstlerischen Darbietungen geplant. Die FES ist auch in Santiago de Chile vor Ort und wird Veranstaltungen durchführen.

Um den Umwelt- und Klimajournalismus weltweit zu stärken, bildet die internationale Organisation Climate Tracker talentierte, junge Journalisten und Journalistinnen in Medienforschung, innovativer Kampagnenplanung und Datenanalyse im Rahmen der UN-Klimaverhandlungen weiter.

In diesem Jahr haben wir vier FES-Medienstipendien vergeben und freuen uns, dass Andrea A. Gálvez aus Spanien, Kartik Chandramouli aus Indien, Petr Vodsedalek aus Tschechien und Leopold Obi aus Kenia uns nach Madrid begleiten. Sie werden von den Climate Trackern liebevoll betreut, erhalten ein klimapolitisches Medientraining, besuchen unsere FES Veranstaltungen und berichten von der COP25.

Hastags:  

 


Beiträge zur Weltklimakonferenz

16.12.2019

Die Lehren aus der UN-Klimakonferenz in Madrid

Wir erreichen die Pariser Klimaziele nicht, wenn einzig mit Blockierern verhandelt wird. Wir brauchen informelle Allianzen aus Nord und Süd.

 


weitere Informationen
 
15.12.2019

FES@Parallel-COP25 Santiago: Umweltgerechtigkeit und soziale Gerechtigkeit sind eins

Zwei Kämpfe, die einer sind – FES-Podiumsdiskussion zu alternativen Entwicklungsmodellen mit Fokus auf Lateinamerika und Karibik in Santiago.


weitere Informationen
 
14.12.2019

Die Kinder des Protestes

Globale Proteste, klare Erklärungen, offene Beschwerden. Die Jugend vereint sich und fordert unermüdlich stärkeren Einsatz der Regierungen.


weitere Informationen
 

Vive le climat

Die Ziele sind ambitioniert, doch die Realitäten widerständig. Unser FES-Kollege berichtet aus Frankreich für das ipg-journal zur COP25.


weitere Informationen
 
12.12.2019

FES@Parallel-COP25 Santiago: Klimawandel in Chile

Global denken, lokal handeln – FES Buchvorstellung auf dem Klimagipfel der Zivilgesellschaft in Santiago de Chile


weitere Informationen
 

Weitere Beiträge finden Sie hier.


Infografiken

Rückblicke

COP24
Rückblick

COP24

Einschätzungen und Analysen zur Weltklimakonferenz 2018 in Katowice weiter

COP 23
Rückblick

COP 23

Einschätzungen und Analysen zur Weltklimakonferenz 2017 in Bonn. weiter

Publikationen zu Klimawandel, Energie- und Umweltpolitik

Publikationen

Klima schützen, aber wie?

Was wir jetzt tun müssen und warum
Bonn, 2020

Publikation herunterladen (1 MB, PDF-File)


Pfister, Christoph; Ecke, Julius; Philipps, Robert

Energiewende durch Kohleausstieg

Perspektiven der Verbraucher ̲ innen
Bonn, 2020

Publikation herunterladen (560 KB, PDF-File)


Guillou, Antoine

Eine wirksame und gerechte CO2-Steuer

Paris, 2020

Publikation herunterladen (110 KB, PDF-File)



Über die Conferences of the Parties (COPs)

Die Conference of the Parties (COP) ist die alljährlich stattfindende Vertragsstaatenkonferenz der UN-Klimarahmenkonvention (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC). Während die UNFCCC 1992 auf dem UN-Umwelt- und Entwicklungsgipfel in Rio de Janeiro vereinbart wurde, treffen sich deren Vertragsparteien seit 1995, um multilateral und auf internationaler Ebene über Antworten und Lösungsoptionen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels zu diskutieren. Besonders weitreichende klimapolitische Entscheidungen wurden dabei mit dem Kyoto-Protokoll auf der dritten COP (COP3) in Kyoto sowie dem Pariser Klimaabkommen auf der COP21 in Paris beschlossen.

nach oben