SPRACHE
Leichte
Sprache
Menu

COP27

United Nations Climate Change Conference 2022 in Sharm el Sheikh, Egypt

The international climate conference COP27 will take place from 6-18 November 2022 in Sharm el-Sheikh, Egypt. It brings together heads of state, ministers, climate activists, civil society organisations and business representatives with the aim of finding global solutions to global warming. While current events such as the war in Ukraine, increased geopolitical tensions and the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic are pushing existing climate ambitions into the background, they also make us painfully aware of the importance of climate goals with regard to the future of our globalised world.

This year’s COP, with the slogan »Together for Implementation«, seeks to make it clear that it is high time to put the promises made in existing climate agreements—such as measures to meet the 1.5-degree target or the USD 100 billion target for financial support to countries in the Global South—into action. With the issue having been blocked by industrialised countries for many years, one focus of this African COP will be on climate finance. This includes, above all, financial support for countries in the Global South to address climate-related loss and damage. Other important topics of discussion will be climate adaptation and a socially just energy transition.

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung will also be present at COP27, supporting 50 delegates from trade unions and civil society in advocating for their interests. The focus of our work is on the link between climate protection and social justice, which is why, together with our partners, we are organising two side events on the topics of »Just Energy Transition Partnerships« and »Youth and Climate Justice«. We will also be accompanying the climate policy negotiations with background discussions and briefings.

As in previous years, we will be supporting the NGO Climate Tracker, offering young climate journalists from the Global South the opportunity to receive further training and to report on topics relevant to their region in the context of the UN climate negotiations. Their articles will be published during the next three weeks on this page.

 

Hashtags: #UNFCCC  #JustTransition  #COP27  #ClimateAction  #ClimateJustice  #TogetherForOurPlanet


Reports on the World Climate Conference 2022

Loss and damage fund: a »remarkable reversal of direction«

Climate Change, Energy and Environment

The results of COP27 from the perspective of the Caribbean climate negotiator for Trinidad and Tobago’s COP27 delegation, Caroline Mair-Toby. Her biggest...


Read more
 

COP27: Putting the debate about race at the centre of discussions

Climate Change, Energy and Environment

Leaders of the Brazilian black movement have come to COP27 with a fundamental demand: to place the racial debate at the centre of the climate negotiations,...


Read more
 

Transition shouldn’t be »borne on the backs« of frontline workers and communities

Climate Change, Energy and Environment

Can Just Energy Transition Partnerships (JETPs) help to prevent this? A story by Climate Tracker journalist Ethan Van Diemen.


Read more
 

Carbon neutrality: A global necessity but a local emergency for Chile

Climate Change, Energy and Environment

In Chile, for decades, what are known as »sacrifice zones«—areas marked by intense industrial activity mainly using coal-fired power plants—have been at...


Read more
 

COP27: Costa Rican indigenous communities demand funding for protection of their forests and traditions from the climate crisis

Climate Change, Energy and Environment

Members of Costa Rican indigenous communities arrived in Egypt with specific requests: listen to indigenous voices and pay for the damages caused.


Read more
 

Climate Tracker

more

COP activities in

Middle East and North Africa

more

COP activities in

Afrika

more

COP27 voices from

Latin America

more


Publications on Climate Change and Energy Policy

Apton Phiri, Daniel

Towards the just city in Zambia

Issues paper
Lusaka, 2022

Download publication (7,5 MB PDF-File)


Just city in Africa

The transformative value of urbanisation
Nairobi, 2022

Download publication (38 MB, PDF-File)


Nakuru's pathway to vision 2050

A just, livable and prosperous city
Nairobi, 2022

Download publication (2 MB, PDF-File)



Retrospective

COP26

COP26

more
COP25

COP25

more
COP24

COP24

more
COP23

COP23

more

The Conference of the Parties (COP)

The Conference of the Parties (COP) is the annual meeting of the member states of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The UNFCCC was adopted at the UN Environmental and Development Summit in Rio de Janeiro in 1992, and the parties have met to discuss answers and solutions to fighting climate change multilaterally and at international level since 1995. Particularly far-reaching climate policy decisions were taken at the third COP (COP3) in Kyoto, known as the Kyoto Protocol, and at COP21 in Paris, which resulted in the Paris Agreement.

nach oben

SPRACHE
Leichte
Sprache
Menü

COP27

Weltklimakonferenz 2022 in Scharm El-Scheich, Ägypten

Die internationale Klimakonferenz COP27 fand dieses Jahr vom 06. bis 19. November in Scharm El-Scheich, Ägypten statt. Staatschef_innen, Minister_innen, Klimaaktivist_innen, zivilgesellschaftliche Organisationen sowie Vertreter_innen aus der Wirtschaft versammelten sich mit dem Ziel, globale Lösungen für die fortschreitende Klimaerwärmung zu finden. Während Ereignisse wie der Krieg in der Ukraine, vermehrte geopolitische Spannungen und die Folgen der Covid-19-Pandemie bestehende Klimaambitionen in den Hintergrund drängen, machen sie uns gleichzeitig deren Bedeutung mit Blick auf die Zukunft unserer globalisierten Welt schmerzhaft deutlich.

Die diesjährige COP mit dem Slogan “Gemeinsam für die Umsetzung“ sollte verdeutlichen, dass es höchste Zeit ist bisherige Versprechen bestehender Klimaabkommen - etwa Maßnahmen zur Einhaltung des 1,5-Grad-Ziels oder das 100 Milliarden-Ziel zur finanziellen Unterstützung von Staaten des Globalen Südens - in die Tat umzusetzen. Nachdem das Thema für viele Jahre von Industrieländern blockiert wurde, lag ein Fokus dieser Afrikanischen COP auf der Klimafinanzierung. Hierzu gehört vor allem auch die finanzielle Unterstützung bei klimabedingten Schäden und Verlusten für Länder im Globalen Süden. Weitere wichtige Themen waren die Klimaanpassung und eine sozial gerechte Energiewende (Just Transition).

Auch die FES war bei der COP27 vor Ort und unterstützte 50 Delegierte aus Gewerkschaften und Zivilgesellschaft dabei ihre Interessen zu vertreten. Der Fokus unserer Arbeit lag auf der Verbindung zwischen Klimaschutz und sozialer Gerechtigkeit, daher organisierten wir gemeinsam mit unseren Partnern zum Beispiel zwei Side Events zu den Themen Just Energy Transition Partnerships und Youth and Climate Justice. Darüber hinaus haben wir die klimapolitischen Verhandlungen mit Hintergrundgesprächen und Briefings begleitet.

Wie auch in den vergangenen Jahren haben wir die NGO Climate Tracker unterstützt, die jungen Klima-Journalist_innen aus dem Globalen Süden die Möglichkeit bietet, sich im Rahmen der UN-Klimaverhandlungen weiterzubilden und über Themen zu berichten, die für ihre Region relevant sind. Ihre Artikel werden in den nächsten 2 Wochen weiter auf dieser Seite veröffentlicht.

Hashtags: #UNFCCC  #JustTransition  #COP27  #ClimateAction  #ClimateJustice  #TogetherForOurPlanet


Beiträge zur Weltklimakonferenz

Fonds für Schäden und Verluste: eine „bemerkenswerte Kehrtwende“

Die Ergebnisse der COP27 aus Sicht der Verhandlungsführerin für die Delegation von Trinidad und Tobago Caroline Mair-Toby. Ihre größte Kritik: Warum hat das so lange gedauert.


weitere Informationen
 

COP27: Die Debatte über „Rassismus“ in den Mittelpunkt der Diskussionen stellen

Auf der COP27 forderten führende Schwarze Vertreter_innen aus Brasilien, dass eine echte Debatte über „Rassismus“ in den Mittelpunkt der Diskussionen über den Klimawandel gestellt...


weitere Informationen
 

Just Transition auf dem Rücken von Arbeiter_innen

Der Übergang sollte nicht zu Lasten der an vorderster Front stehenden Arbeiter_innen und Bevölkerungsgruppen durchgesetzt werden.


weitere Informationen
 

GreenZone Videocast - Afrikanische Stimmen zur COP27

Für Afrika steht viel auf dem Spiel, wenn es um die Zukunft globaler Klimapolitik geht, da der Kontinent von den Auswirkungen der Klimakrise bereits heute stark betroffen ist....


weitere Informationen
 

COP27: Eine gute Nachricht, viele schlechte

Die Ergebnisse der Klimakonferenz in Ägypten sind mager. Es ist an der Zeit, das Format zu überdenken. Ein Meinungsbeitrag von Yvonne Blos (FES) im ipg-journal.


weitere Informationen
 

Climate Tracker

weiter

Regionale Themenseite zur COP27

Mittlerer Osten und Nordafrika

weiter

Regionale Themenseite zur COP27

Afrika

weiter

Stimmen zur COP27 aus

Lateinamerika

weiter


Rückblicke

Publikationen zu Klimawandel, Energie- und Umweltpolitik

Das Klima-Handbuch für Kommunen in Rheinland-Pfalz und dem Saarland

Den solidarisch-ökologischen Wandel erfolgreich gestalten
Bonn, 2022

Publikation herunterladen (1,6 MB PDF-File)


Neuhoff, Karsten

Gaspreis deckeln, Gas einsparen

Eine europäische Initiative zur Bewältigung der Energiekrise
Berlin&Brüssel, 2022

Publikation herunterladen (550 KB, PDF-File)


Apton Phiri, Daniel

Towards the just city in Zambia

Issues paper
Lusaka, 2022

Publikation herunterladen (7,5 MB PDF-File)


Just city in Africa

The transformative value of urbanisation
Nairobi, 2022

Publikation herunterladen (38 MB, PDF-File)



Über die Conferences of the Parties (COPs)

Die Conference of the Parties (COP) ist die alljährlich stattfindende Vertragsstaatenkonferenz der UN-Klimarahmenkonvention (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change, UNFCCC). Während die UNFCCC 1992 auf dem UN-Umwelt- und Entwicklungsgipfel in Rio de Janeiro vereinbart wurde, treffen sich deren Vertragsparteien seit 1995, um multilateral und auf internationaler Ebene über Antworten und Lösungsoptionen zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels zu diskutieren. Besonders weitreichende klimapolitische Entscheidungen wurden dabei mit dem Kyoto-Protokoll auf der dritten COP (COP3) in Kyoto sowie dem Pariser Klimaabkommen auf der COP21 in Paris beschlossen.

nach oben