About Olusegun Obasanjo


  • Born 5 March, 1935 (1937), Ibogun, Ogun State, Nigeria
  • Baptist Boy's High School, Abeokuta
  • 1958 Nigerian Army
  • Mons Officers' Military College at Aldershot, UK
  • 1960-61 Lieutenant, UN Peace Corps in Congo (Zaire)
  • Training in "Military Engineering" at military academies in UK and India
  • 1969 Colonel, Active in Nigerian Civil War
  • January 1970 Acceptor of the declaration of capitulation of Biafra
  • 1972 Brigadier
  • 1975 Minister (Federal Commissioner), Works and Housing
  • 1975-76 Chief if Staff, Lieutenant General
  • 1975-79 Member of Military Government (Supreme Military Council)
  • 1976 Head of State after the assassination of General Murtala Muhammed
  • 1978 Introduction of Presidential Constitution
  • 1979 Presidential Elections and handing-over of government responsibility to Shehu Shagari on October 1st
  • Promotion to General (fourth rank) and retirement from the army
  • Agriculturist, publicist
  • Arrest on March 13th, 1995 after his return from the UN World Social Summit in Kopenhagen
  • Charged with participation in an "attempted coup d'état" and sentenced to life imprisonment during a secret military procedure; commuted in October 1995 into 15 years imprisonment
  • Confinement in the high security prison at Yos, now in Yola, under degrading and life-threatening conditions


Member of the "Institute for African Studies", University of Ibadan

Member of the UNESCO Commission for Peace in the Minds of Man, 1981-86

Member of the "Independent (Palme) Commission on Disarmament and Security Issues", 1983-89

Member of the Executive Committee of "Inter-Action Council" of former Heads of State and Governments, since 1983

Co-President of the "Commonwealth Eminent Persons Group on South Africa", 1985-86

Founder and President of the "Africa Leadership Forum" and the "Africa Leadership Foundation", since 1988

Member of the "Independent Group on Financial Flows to Developing Countries" (Schmidt Commission), 1988

Member of the "Board of Trustees - Ford Foundation", since 1988

President of the "Future Action Committee, Management of Science and Technology for Development in Africa", since 1989

Member of the "United Nations Secretary-General's Group on African Commodities Questions", 1989-1990

Member of the "Advisory Council - Parliamentarians for Global Action"

Member of the "Board of Trustees, African-American Institute"

President of the Advisory Committee of "Transparency International" (TI), since 1965


  • 1979 Grand Commander of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (GCFR)
  • Honorary degrees of Howards University, Washington, and of nigerian universities
  • 1989 Prize of the African-American Institute, New York
  • 1990 "Africa Prize for Leadership for the Sustainable End of Hunger", New York
  • 1995 "Indira Gandhi Peace Prize", New Delhi

Numerous publications (among others)

  • My Command, 1980
  • Africa in Perspective 'Myth and Realities', 1987
  • Africa Embattled, 1988
  • Constitution for National Integration and Development, 1989
  • Not My Will, 1990
  • Elements of Development, 1992
  • Elements of Democracy, 1993
  • Africa: Rise to Challenge, 1993
  • Hope for Africa, 1993

Internationale Arbeit

Homepage Menschenrechte

Human Rights Award 1996

Human Rights Award 1997

Human Rights Award 1998

Human Rights Award 1999

Human Rights Award 2000

Human Rights Award 2001

Human Rights Award 2002

Human Rights Award 2003


©Friedrich Ebert Stiftung | net edition Joachim.Vesper & Klaus Milz | 1996-2003