The awardees Slim Amamou und Zahraa Kassem in front of her brother Khaled Said's portrait at FES in Berlin; Photo: Jens Schicke

The awardees Slim Amamou und Zahraa Kassem in front of her brother Khaled Said's portrait at FES in Berlin

 

The portrait of late Khaled Mohamed Said (1982-2010), internet activisten from Egypt, was painted during the ceremony of the FES Human Rights Award by the graffiti artist Andreas von Chrzanowski aka Case on elements of the former Berlin Wall © Joel Sames

The portrait of late Khaled Mohamed Said (1982-2010), internet activisten from Egypt, was painted during the ceremony of the FES Human Rights Award by the graffiti artist Andreas von Chrzanowski aka Case on elements of the former Berlin Wall © Joel Sames

 

Slim Amamou and Zahraa Kassem in Berlin with laudator Joachim Gauck and FES CEO Roland Schmidt; Photo: Jens Schicke

Slim Amamou and Zahraa Kassem in Berlin with laudator Joachim Gauck and FES CEO Roland Schmidt

You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2011

Human Rights Award 2011

Slim Amamou, Tunesia and Khaled M. Said (1982-2010), Egypt

Political context

The Near / Middle East and Northern Africa (MENA) suffers from marked deficits in democracy and development caused by a high degree of political conflict and authoritarian structures in most of the regimes of the region. The Arab Human Development Report identifies the key deficits. In addition to having the lowest degree of freedom worldwide measured in terms of civil and political human rights, the region also has the lowest participation of women in politics, society, and the economy and its educational system is one of the worst. The populations in Maghreb and Mashriq countries suffer above all from social injustice, poverty, corruption and police despotism.
Some rulers have held the reins of power for decades. Their power relies on a close-knit patronage system and the power of the security forces. Despotic regimes in the MENA region infringe upon a multitude of rights codified in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and UN human rights covenants.

Since 2010 we have seen protests against dictatorship and arbitrary rule almost everywhere in the Arab world. The citizens are trying to force the establishment of political reforms by means of their protests, but they are also fighting for a life in dignity as defined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

The Award winners

The regimes in Tunisia and Egypt would not have changed without the efforts of all the people participating in the protests. Hundreds of thousands of people risked their health and lives when they took to the streets, some of them for the first time in their lives.
With its Human Rights Award 2011, the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung wishes to honour two important players and symbolic figures as representatives of the protest movements and fights for freedom in Tunisia and Egypt.

The protest movements in Tunisia and Egypt owe their success to a great extent to the organisation and coordination possibilities of the Internet and new social media. Young and media-savvy people played an especially important role during the initial phase of the demonstrations. For several years internet activists and bloggers had been reporting online about the problems of the people, and the wheelings and dealings of the regime.
With commitment and bravery they provided an account of rampant corruption, oppressive poverty, lack of prospects for young people as well as violent suppression by security and police forces - often risking their health and their lives.

Slim Amamou, born in Tunis in 1977, is a computer scientist, blogger, and Internet activist. He is considered one of the chief fighters for free speech in Tunisia. During the final days of Ben Ali’s regime he was in prison and has become the symbolic figure of the democracy movement in Tunisia. After the ousting of Ben Ali he was appointed Secretary of State for Youth and Sports in the Tunisian interim government. In May 2011 he resigned from his office in order to focus on new projects.

Khaled Said (1982-2010, Egypt) was an Internet activist and blogger. On 6 June 2010 he was apprehended by plain-clothes police officers in an Internet cafe in Alexandria and openly beaten to death in the street. He had uploaded videos onto the Internet showing police officers abusing or intimidating people and dealing drugs. A photo of Said’s dead body was published on the Internet. Protests ensued and a Facebook page entitled “We are all Khaled Said” was created. Finally the government conceded that undercover secret police officers were responsible for his death. All these incidents turned Said into a symbolic figure for the Egyptian revolution.

The award ceremony will take place on 19 September 2011 from 17.00 to 20.00 h at House 1 of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin, Hiroshimastr. 17; the laudation will be held by Dr. Joachim Gauck, Chairperson of the Association ”Against Oblivion – for Democracy”.

 For the late Khaled Said, his sister Zahraa Kassem will accept the award for him.

Further Information:
Pictures, Interviews and Videos: Interviews with Slim Amamou and Zahraa Kassem of September 19, 2011 Picture Gallery of the event Videos of the event and the laudation Reasons for nominating Slim Amamou and Khaled Said for the award Programme of the award ceremony Press Statements (follows) Programme of the award ceremony FES Publications on the subject Social security for all: a call for social solidarity in Tunisia by Mongi Amami, FES Berlin 2011 Open Publication as PDF Tunesien in (post)revolutionärer Transformation (German) Eine Momentaufnahme by Ralf Melzer, FES Berlin 2011 Open publication as PDF Die Arabische Liga: Neuer Generalsekretär - alte Herausforderungen (German) by Felix Eikenberg, FES Cairo 2011 Open publication as pdf Quo vadis Euromed? Tunesien, das Statut Avancé und die Union für das Mittelmeer by Ralf Melzer, FES Berlin 2010 Open publication as pdf Press articles and interviews with FES staff on Egypt and Tunesia 2011 (German) Overview Links Website of FES in Egypt Website of FES in Tunesia "Tunisia: Youth Views" - Recording of an Online Conference "Despotendämmerung": Video of a discussion in Berlin from Mai 2011 The department for Middle East and North Africa of the FES (German) The Human Rights working line of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Slim Amamou's Weblog Slim Amamou on twitter

Streetart graffito by Achmed El Sayed, Egypt

Die beiden Preisträger Slim Amamou und Zahraa Kassem in Berlin vor dem Portrait Khaled Saids

Slim Amamou und Zahraa Kassem in Berlin vor dem Portrait Khaled Saids

 

Das Portrait von Khaled Mohamed Said (1982-2010), dem getöteten Internetaktivisten aus Ägypten, wurde während der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises 2011 von dem Graffiti-Künstler Andreas von Chrzanowski aka Case auf Elemente der ehemaligen Berliner Mauer gemalt © Joel Sames

Das Portrait von Khaled Mohamed Said (1982-2010), dem getöteten Internetaktivisten aus Ägypten, wurde während der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises 2011 von dem Graffiti-Künstler Andreas von Chrzanowski aka Case auf Elemente der ehemaligen Berliner Mauer gemalt © Joel Sames

 

Slim Amamou und Zahra Kassem in Berlin mit Laudator Joachim Gauck und FES Geschäftsführer Roland Schmidt; Foto: Jens Schicke

Slim Amamou und Zahra Kassem in Berlin mit Laudator Joachim Gauck und FES Geschäftsführer Roland Schmidf

Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2011

Menschenrechtspreis 2011

Slim Amamou, Tunesien und Khaled Said (1982-2010), Ägypten

Zum politischen Kontext

Die Region des Nahen/Mittleren Ostens und Nordafrikas (MONA) leidet unter einem ausgeprägten Demokratie- und Entwicklungsdefizit, das ursächlich auf ein hohes Ausmaß politischer Konflikte und autoritärer Strukturen der meisten Regime zurückzuführen ist. Der Arab Human Development Report identifiziert neben dem weltweit geringsten Freiheitsgrad - gemessen an bürgerlichen und politischen Menschenrechten - auch die geringste politische, gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Beteiligung von Frauen sowie eines der schlechtesten Bildungssysteme als zentrale Defizite. Außerdem leiden die Bevölkerungen in Maghreb und Mashrek vor allem unter sozialer Ungleichheit, Armut, Korruption und polizeilicher Willkür.

Die Machthaber halten teilweise seit Jahrzehnten die Zügel der Macht in ihren Händen und stützen sich dabei auf engmaschige Patronagesysteme und die Gewalt der Sicherheitsapparate. Die Despotien in der MONA-Region verstoßen damit gegen eine Vielzahl der in der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte sowie in den UN-Menschenrechtspakten kodifizierten Rechte.

Fast überall in der arabischen Welt erleben wir seit Dezember 2010 Proteste gegen Diktatur und Willkürherrschaft. Die Proteste sind dabei sowohl der Versuch, politische Reformen zu erzwingen, als auch ein würdevolles Leben im Sinne der Allgemeinen Menschenrechtserklärung einzufordern.

Die Preisträger

Die Regimewechsel in Tunesien und Ägypten wären ohne den großen Einsatz der an den Protesten beteiligtenMenschen unmöglich gewesen. Unter Gefährdung ihrer Gesundheit und ihres Lebens gingen Hunderttausende, teilweise zum ersten Mal in ihrem Leben, zum Demonstrieren auf die Straßen. Stellvertretend für die Demokratiebewegung in Tunesien und Ägypten möchte die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung zwei wichtige Akteure und Symbolfiguren des Freiheitskampfes mit dem Menschenrechtspreis 2011 ehren.

Der Erfolg der Protestbewegung in Tunesien und Ägypten hing zu einem Großteil auch von der Möglichkeit zur Organisation und Koordination über das Internet und neue soziale Medien ab. Gerade in der Anfangsphase der Demonstrationen kam hierbei jungen und medienaffinen Menschen eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Internetaktivisten und Blogger hatten über Jahre von den Problemen der Menschen sowie den Machenschaften der Regime online berichtet. Die grassierende Korruption, die drückende Armut, die Perspektivlosigkeit der Jugend sowie die gewaltsame Unterdrückung der Bevölkerung durch Sicherheitsdienste und Polizei wurden von ihnen engagiert und mutig festgehalten; vielfach unter Gefährdung ihrer Gesundheit und ihres Lebens.

Slim Amamou, geb. 1977 in Tunis, Informatiker, Blogger und Internetaktivist, gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Kämpfer für die Meinungsfreiheit in Tunesien. Während der letzten Tage des Ben-Ali-Regimes saß er in Haft und ist zu einer Symbolfigur der Demokratiebewegung geworden. Nach dem Sturz Ben Alis übernahm er in der  Übergangsregierung vorübergehend das Amt des Staatssekretärs für Jugend und Sport, legte das Amt jedoch bald wieder nieder, um auf andere Art am Aufbau einer demokratischen Gesellschaft mitzuwirken.

Khaled Said (geb. 1982, verstorben 2010, Ägypten), Internetaktivist und Blogger, wurde am 6. Juni 2010 in Alexandria von zwei Polizisten brutal zu Tode geprügelt. Er hatte u.a. Videos ins Internet gestellt, die Polizisten bei Misshandlungen und Rauschgiftgeschäften zeigten. Das Foto von Saids Leiche wurde im Internet veröffentlicht und führte zu massiven Protestaktionen und zur Gründung der Bewegung „Wir sind alle Khaled Said“. Aufgrund der Proteste räumte die Regierung schließlich ein, dass Geheimpolizisten für seinen Tod verantwortlich seien. Seither ist Khaled Said zu einer Symbolfigur für die Revolution in Ägypten geworden.

Die Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises an Slim Amamou und den verstorbenen Kahled Said wird am 19. September 2011 von 17.00 - 20.00 Uhr im Haus 1 der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin, Hiroshimastr. 17, stattfinden; die Laudatio hält Dr. Joachim Gauck. Für den verstorbenen Said wird dessen Schwester Zarah Kassem die Ehrung entgegen nehmen und an der Podiumsdiskussion teilnehmen.


Weitere Informationen:
Fotos, Interviews und Videos: Interviews mit Slim Amamou und Zahraa Kassem vom 19. September 2011 Fotogalerie der Veranstaltung Videos der Veranstaltung und der Laudatio Pressestimmen zur Veranstaltung: Artikel in der Welt zum Preis für Slim Amamou Weiterer Artikel in der Welt DW-Interview mit Slim Amamou WDR 3: Demokratiepreis der FES Radio Bremen: Kämpfer für Meinungsfreiheit WDR 3: Demokratiepreis der FES Blog-Eintrag auf Al Sharq.de Sawtuna: Blog des Instituts für Arabistik der Uni Münster Statement der Deutschen Botschaft in Cairo zu Saids Mauer-Portrait Programm zur Preisverleihung und Podiumsdiskussion Begründung für die Nominierung für den Menschenrechtspreis Pressemitteilung/-einladung (folgt in Kürze) Publikationen der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Tunesien in (post)revolutionärer Transformation Eine Momentaufnahme von Ralf Melzer, FES Berlin 2011 Die Publikation im PDF-Format Social security for all: a call for social solidarity in Tunisia von Mongi Amami, FES Berlin 2011 Die Publikation im PDF-Format Die Arabische Liga: Neuer Generalsekretär - alte Herausforderungen von Felix Eikenberg, FES Cairo 2011 Die Publikation im pdf-Format Quo vadis Euromed? Tunesien, das Statut Avancé und die Union für das Mittelmeer von Ralf Melzer, FES Berlin 2010 Die Publikation im PDF-Format Presseartikel und Interviews mit FES-Mitarbeitern zu Ägypten und Tunesien 2011 zur Übersicht Weiterführende Links Website der FES in Ägypten Website der FES in Tunesien "Tunisia: Youth Views" - Aufzeichnung einer Online-Konferenz "Despotendämmerung": Videoaufzeichnung der Veranstaltung vom 10. Mai 2011 Das Referat Naher/Mittlerer Osten und Nordafrika der FES Der Arbeitsbereich Menschenrechte der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Weblog von Slim Amamou twitterpage von Slim Amamou