

WIRTSCHAFT.WEITER.DENKEN.

Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik

Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik "Wirtschaft.Weiter.Denken." 2019

Friday, 5 April 2019 | 10:30 am – 2:30 pm

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Building 1, Conference Hall, Hiroshimastr. 17, 10785 Berlin

Award Ceremony for Adam Tooze

for his book "Crashed: How a Decade of Financial Crises Changed the World", Munich 2018

Award Ceremony for Harald Schumann / Elisa Simantke

for their article "Blackrock – A Finance Corporation on the Path to Global Domination", Tagesspiegel (8 May 2018)

This year the Hans-Matthöfer-Preis will, for the first time, be awarded to two recipients: Adam Tooze will receive the award for his book "Crashed: How a Decade of Financial Crises Changed the World". Elisa Simantke and Harald Schumann will also receive the award for their article "Blackrock – A Finance Corporation on the Path to Global Domination", which appeared in the Tagesspiegel (8 May 2018) and other media in 15 European countries and are accepting it – together with Maria Maggiore, the initiator of the "Blackrock" project – on behalf of the "Investigate Europe" team of journalists.

The jury based its decision on the fact that both works have, in very different ways, made an equally important contribution to the discussion on economic policy in Germany and Europe.

Adam Tooze documents the recent financial crisis and the crisis management that followed with unprecedented precision. Taking a broad perspective, he analyses the radical transformation of the global economic situation that arose as a consequence. The result is a brilliant economic-historical assessment and at the same time an extraordinary foundation for further critical analysis.

Harald Schumann and Elisa Simantke analyse the activities of the financial corporation Blackrock. They point out how a strategy that depends upon elimination of competition and the instrumentalisation of politics has produced a concentration of power that undermines the basic rules of the market economy and which has led to the uncontrolled growth of a close alliance between Blackrock and political decision-makers.

The Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik of the Hans-und-Traute-Matthöfer-Stiftung as part of Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung honours economists and social scientists who look beyond the standard economic theories and macro-economic mainstream to seek new answers to the economic and social policy challenges of our time. A proper academic debate seeking the best and most accurate economic ideas, models and policy recommendations requires greater diversity of theory, methodological pluralism and interdisciplinarity.

You are warmly invited to attend the prize-giving ceremony for this year's Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik "Wirtschaft.Weiter.Denken.".

Programme

10:30 am Musical Introduction
10:35 am Welcome Address

Kurt Beck, former Minister-President of Rhineland-Palatinate, Chairman of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung

10:45 am Award Speech

Matthias Kollatz, Senator for Finance in Berlin

11:15 am Laudation

Peter Bofinger, Professor at University of Würzburg, Member of the Jury of the Hans-Matthöfer-Preis

für Wirtschaftspublizistik

Presentation of the Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik

"Wirtschaft.Weiter.Denken." 2019 to Adam Tooze, Harald Schumann and Elisa Simantke

11:30 am Acceptance Speech11:55 am Musical Conclusion

12:00 pm End of the Award Ceremony

Lunch Break

1:15 pm Public Discussion with the Award Winners

Moderator: **Sabine Gillessen**, Gillessen Politics Strategy

2:30 pm End of the Event

Simultaneous translation German/English will be provided. Musical accompaniment: Interstep

Photos and film footage of guests and participants in the event may be published or shown on the FES website, in social networks or in FES publications. Your participation in the event will be taken to imply your consent.

Conference information

Venue

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Building 1, Conference Hall

Hiroshimastraße 17, 10785 Berlin-Tiergarten

Responsible

Dr. Andrä Gärber

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Division of Economic and Social Policy

Markus Schreyer

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Division of Economic and Social Policy, Markus.Schreyer@fes.de, Tel.: (030) 269 35 8312

Public Relation

Sina Dürrenfeldt

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Division of Economic and Social Policy, Sina.Duerrenfeldt@fes.de, Tel.: (030) 269 35 8321

Organisation

Irin Nickel

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Division of Economic and Social Policy, Irin.Nickel@fes.de, Tel.: (030) 269 35 8318

Please reply by 28 March 2019 by e-mail to htms-preis@fes.de or fax to 030 269 35 9229.

Travel and accommodation costs cannot be reimbursed. Information to the Division of Economic and Social Policy on the Internet: www.fes.de/wiso

Public transport

Bus 100, 187 to stop Lützowplatz Bus M 29 to stop Hiroshimasteg Bus 200 to stop Tiergartenstraße

Parking facilities are not available.



For questions regarding barrier-free access of the event, please contact the person of the FES staff responsible for the organisation.





Reply by e-mail htms-preis@fes.de or fax 030 269 35 9229 Registration deadline is 28 March 2019

Registration

Hans-Matthöfer-Preis für Wirtschaftspublizistik "Wirtschaft.Weiter.Denken." 2019

Friday, 5 April 2019 | 10:30 am - 2:30 pm

Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Building 1, Conference Hall, Hiroshimastr. 17, 10785 Berlin

| ☐ I will participate. |
|---|
| |
| Surname, First name |
| Institution – Function |
| Address |
| e-mail |
| Date – Signature |
| ☐ I register on my behalf / in addition |
| Surname, First name |
| Institution – Function |
| Address |
| e-mail |