

Press release

Thinking economics forward

Award of the Hans Matthöfer Prize for Economic Publishing

The main prize for 2023 goes to

Minouche Shafik for her book "What We Owe Each Other: A New Social Contract for a Better Society", Ullstein Verlag, 11/2021 / orig. Princeton University Press, 2021;

the special prize for 2023 goes to

Tom Krebs for his contributions "<u>Modern Climate Policy and Sustainable Growth</u>", published in: *Perspektiven der Wirtschaftspolitik* 22 – 2021 as well as "<u>Modern Climate Policy: Moving Beyond the Market-Liberal Paradigm</u>", Working Paper of the Forum New Economy, published on 10 January 2023.

The Jury's Reasoning

Minouche Shafik clearly demonstrates that the great challenges of our time can only be overcome if there is strong social cohesion. This requires a new social contract that reorganises the distribution of risks and opportunities associated with the upcoming changes.

Tom Krebs' studies show that climate policy focuses solely on the price of CO2 is insufficient. Instead, climate policy measures can only be successful if they are embedded in industrial and distribution policies. Thinking about economic policy thus will make a decisive contribution to the debate on how to tackle climate change.

The Award

With this prize, the initiators aim to honour economists and social scientists who go beyond standard economic theory or the macroeconomic mainstream in their search for new answers to today's major economic and socio-political challenges. The prize is awarded annually by the Hans and Traute Matthöfer Foundation within the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung. The prize money of the Hans Matthöfer Prize for Economic Publishing is 10,000 euros. The jury reserves the right to award a special prize for extraordinary business journalistic achievements beyond the specified criteria. This special prize is endowed with 5,000 euros.

The 2023 Award Winners

Nemat (Minouche) Shafik is Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE).

Prof. Tom Krebs is Professor of Macroeconomics and Economic Policy at the University of Mannheim.

The Jury

Prof. Dr. Peter Bofinger (University of Würzburg, ex. German Economic Counsel Expert, aka "Wirtschaftsweiser"), **Thomas Fricke** (Director of the Forum New Economy, columnist for DER SPIEGEL) **and Dr. Brigitte Preissl** (former Editor-in-Chief of the trade journals *Wirtschaftsdienst* and *Intereconomics*).

The award ceremony will take place on 19 June 2023 from 5 p.m. at the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin and will be the prelude to the Congress "Progressive Economic Policy Day" on 20 June 2023. The number of participants is limited, as a journalist you can already register by email: https://doi.org/10.1007/journalist-preis@fes.de

More information on the Hans Matthöfer Prize can be found here: https://www.fes.de/abteilung-analyse-planung-und-beratung/hans-matthoefer-preis-fuer-wirtschaftspublizistik