

### **Press release**

# Thinking economics forward

## Award of the Hans Matthöfer Prize for Economic Publishing

The main prize of the year 2022 goes to

**Michael J. Sandel** for his book "Vom Ende des Gemeinwohls – Wie die Leistungsgesellschaft unsere Demokratien zerreißt" (The Tyranny of Merit: What's Become of the Common Good?);

the special prize of the year 2022 goes to

**Julia Friedrichs** for her book "Working Class – Warum wir Arbeit brauchen, von der wir leben können" (Working Class – Why we need work we can live on).

### The jury's reasoning

Michael J. Sandel's book "Vom Ende des Gemeinwohls – Wie die Leistungsgesellschaft unsere Demokratien zerreißt" (The Tyranny of Merit: What's Become of the Common Good?) makes a significant contribution to the discussion on justice in Germany. The author criticises the orientation of income distribution towards common performance criteria and shows that this neglects the common good as the basis of a functioning society.

Julia Friedrichs' book "Working Class – Warum wir Arbeit brauchen, von der wir leben können" (Working Class – Why we need work we can live on) is an impressive documentation of the phenomenon of "being poor despite working" in Germany. In doing so, it links current empirical data with real-life examples and shows that the shift in the world of work over the last decades has led to employment conditions that – also irrespective of the level of education – have left many people behind from the development of prosperity in the country.

#### The award

With this prize, the initiators want to honour economists and social scientists who go beyond standard economic theory or the macroeconomic mainstream in their search for new answers to the major economic and socio-political challenges. The prize is awarded annually by the Hans and Traute Matthöfer Foundation in the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung. The prize money of the Award of the Hans Matthöfer Prize for Economic Publishing is 10,000 euros. The jury reserves the right to award a special prize for extraordinary business journalistic achievements beyond the specified criteria. This special prize is endowed with 5,000 euros.

#### The award winners for 2022

**Michael J. Sandel** is a political philosopher. He studied at Oxford and has taught at Harvard since 1980.

**Julia Friedrichs** studied journalism in Dortmund and Brussels. Since then she has worked as an author of reports and documentaries for ARD, ZDF and Die Zeit.

### **Die Jury**

**Prof. Dr. Peter Bofinger** (University of Würzburg, former "German Economic Counsel Expert"), **Thomas Fricke** (Director Forum New Economy, columnist for DER SPIEGEL) **and Dr. Brigitte Preissl** (former Editor-in-Chief of the trade journals Wirtschaftsdienst and Intereconomics).

The award ceremony will take place on 30 May 2022 from 5 p.m. at the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin and will be the prelude to the Congress " <u>Day of Progressive Economic Policy</u> " on 31 May 2022. The number of participants is limited, as a journalist you can already register by email: <a href="https://doi.org/10.1007/journalist-style-tail-10.1007/journalist-s

More information on the Hans Matthöfer Award can be found here: <a href="https://www.fes.de/abteilung-analyse-planung-und-beratung/hans-matthoefer-preis-fuer-wirtschaftspublizistik">https://www.fes.de/abteilung-analyse-planung-und-beratung/hans-matthoefer-preis-fuer-wirtschaftspublizistik</a>