Photo: © CDRSEE, 2010

Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, after receiving the FES Human Rights Award 2013. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013

Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, after receiving the FES Human Rights Award 2013. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

vltr: Ulf Brunnbauer, Director of the Southeast Institute, University of Regensburg, Michael Martens, Southeast Europe  correspondent, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, and Costa Carras, Member of the CDRSEE Board, at the panel discussion after the award ceremony. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013

vltr: Ulf Brunnbauer, Director of the Southeast Institute, University of Regensburg, Michael Martens, Southeast Europe correspondent, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, and Costa Carras, Member of the CDRSEE Board, at the panel discussion after the award ceremony. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

vlnr: Kurt Beck, FES Chairman, Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, and Martin Schulz, MEP, President of the European Parliament, at the FES Human Rights Award 2013 ceremony. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013

vlnr: Kurt Beck, FES Chairman, Nenad 各bek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, and Martin Schulz, MEP, President of the European Parliament, at the FES Human Rights Award 2013 ceremony. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

The JHP organises training workshops to show teachers, those who have the biggest impact on the leaders of tomorrow, ways to customise the JHP materials and  build lesson plans for their own situations. The JHP promotes honest discussions and the understanding that there are multiple interpretations for any event. Here, teachers discussed JHP materials at a session in Bihac, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

The JHP organises training workshops to show teachers, those who have the biggest impact on the leaders of tomorrow, ways to customise the JHP materials and build lesson plans for their own situations. The JHP promotes honest discussions and the understanding that there are multiple interpretations for any event. Here, teachers discussed JHP materials at a session in Bihac, Bosnia and Herzegovina. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

 

CDRSEE's Joint History Project, the gold-standard multi-perspecitve history education program in the Balkans, presented the project to Faculty of Political Sciences in Belgrade. A compelling discussion ensued among the international group about the understanding of history. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

CDRSEE's Joint History Project, the gold-standard multi-perspecitve history education program in the Balkans, presented the project to Faculty of Political Sciences in Belgrade. A compelling discussion ensued among the international group about the understanding of history. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

 

»Euro(pe) -- A crisis without end?« Two dozen students from France, Germany and Greece gathered in a three-city tour, to listen, debate and create. The result -- fresh ideas and innovative solutions to the European crisis, and a promise for more communication and cooperation. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2013

Human Rights Award 2013

Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast Europe (CDRSEE), Greece

Political context

The Political Context

The break-up of the former Yugoslavia at the end of the 1990s led to the biggest humanitarian catastrophe in Europe since the Second World War. Besides the loss of lives, the large-scale tragedy of flight and expulsion and the material destruction the eyes of the world were stunned above all by the inhuman brutality of the combatants, primarily along ethnic lines. Symbolic of the war crimes committed at that time was the Srebrenica massacre, in which up to 8,000 people lost their lives.

One of the roots of the devastating conflict was the region痴 unresolved historical legacy. The earlier サfraternal stateォ of Yugoslavia imploded, due, among other things, to stereotypes, myths of victimhood and nationalist and exclusionary rhetoric in politics, culture and the media. Historical narratives served to justify national characteristics and to distance oneself from neighbours and members of ethnic minorities.

History and historiography cosy with the state were narrowed down to a national historiography aimed at creating a national identity. Also in schools, history and the present were not considered critically. Rather stereotypes consolidated by the conflict were perpetuated and engraved in students con-sciousnesses.

In the meantime, the countries of the so-called サwestern Balkansォ have taken important steps to resolve their past and to establish good neighbourly relations; not least because that is a condition of EU membership. However, reconciliation in the narrower sense requires even greater political courage and will.

Even more important is to pay more attention and give more political space to the wealth of civil society initiatives to achieve reconciliation between Yugoslavia痴 constituent states, formerly at daggers drawn. In particular, they make a major contribution to the historical resolution of the causes and processes, and not only with regard to the immediate period of conflict.

The Award Winner

The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung痴 human rights award this year recognises the particular contribution of the Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast-Europe (CDRSEE).

Founded in 1998, this non-governmental organisation advocates the strengthening of democratic and pluralistic societies in South-east Europe, alongside European values, market economies oriented towards the rule of law and social responsibility, the inclusion of disadvantaged groups and reconciliation between the peoples of the region. It does this by means of education programmes, public debates, concrete assistance and networking opportunities and conferences and seminars.

One project in particular stands out from its range of activities, the サJoint History Projectォ. Running for 14 years now, this project is aimed at enabling students to open their eyes to the history of the region, often referred to as the サBalkan powder kegォ, which サproduces more history than it can cope withォ.

The CDRSEE痴 history textbooks translated into 10 national languages encourage students to develop a critical view of historical events and contexts. Thus they provide them with the means to obtain a better understanding of both the past and the present.

The CDRSEE has also been able to persuade the political powers-that-be in the countries of South-east Europe that historical knowledge must be transmitted in new ways, if mutual stereotypes and prejudices are to be overcome. In the meantime, new approaches to teaching and new textbooks have been introduced into the curricula of some countries in the region.

Furthermore, the CDRSEE promotes regional cooperation between teachers and teachers associations. Researchers, translators and publishers throughout South-east Europe also participate in the project.

One needs to recall the heated and resentment-, even hate-filled atmosphere in the region of the サwestern Balkansォ around 1999 in order to measure the belief and convictions with which the initiators of the サJoint History Projectォ began work on their history textbooks for South-east Europe. As was only to be expected, resistance to their approach was great. The prospect of talking to a brick wall did not deter those concerned and their supporters from pursuing their goals of reconciliation and democratisation, however.

Due to their commitment, courage and remarkable endurance they have made an important contribution to achieving reconciliation between the countries of South-east Europe. The Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung would like to acknowledge this exceptional achievement with the bestowal of its human rights award.

The award ceremony took place on October 28st, 2013 at Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Berlin. The laudation was held by Martin Schulz, MEP, President of the European Parliament.

Following the award ceremony was the panel discussion
Divided Memory - Common History: Shaping a peaceful future of Southeast Europe
Panelists:
Ulf Brunnbauer, Director of the Southeast Institute, University of Regensburg
Costa Carras, Member of the Board, CDRSEE
Stavros Lambrinidis, European Union's Special Representative for Human Rights (tbc)
Nenad Šebek, Executive Director of CDRSEE
Chair:
Michael Martens, Southeast Europe correspondent, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung


Download the leaflet
(in German)

Further Information: Reasons for nominating TUJ Laudatio of Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament Photos and Audio Photos of the award ceremony Interview with Nenad 各bek (CDRSEE) (7min10) Speech by Nenad 各bek (CDRSEE) (6min16) Laudatio by Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament (German, 10min52)
Media Coverage
CDRSEE Publications Workbooks of the »Joint History Project« CDRSEE, 2. Edition, 2009 FES Publications on the Subject Our responsibility does not end at the EU's borders for a committed European Union enlargement and neighborhood policy Dietmar Nietan, FES International Policy Analysis, 2013 Monitoring regional cooperation in South East Europe Stefan Dehnert et al. (Hrsg), FES, 2012 The dynamics of conflict in the multi-ethnic state of Bosnia and Herzegovina Timo Kivim臾i, Marina Kramer und Paul Pasch, FES Study, 2012 Exiting conflict, owning the peace Local ownership and peacebuilding relationships in the cases of Bosnia and Kosovo Mary Martin et al. (Hrsg.), FES Study, 2012 Links Website of the CDRSEE

Photo: © CDRSEE, 2010

Nenad Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, bei der Verleihung des FES Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geek, 2013

Nenad Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, bei der Verleihung des FES Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

vlnr: Ulf Brunnbacher, Direktor des Südost-Instituts der Universität Regensburg, Michael Martens, FAZ-Korrespondent für den Westlichen Balkan und die Türkei, Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, und Costa Carras, Vorstandsmitglied des CDRSEE, bei der Podiumsdiskussion im Rahmen der Verleihung des FES Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013

vlnr: Ulf Brunnbauer, Direktor des Südost-Instituts der Universität Regensburg, Michael Martens, FAZ-Korrespondent für den Westlichen Balkan und die Türkei, Nenad Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, und Costa Carras, Vorstandsmitglied des CDRSEE, bei der Podiumsdiskussion im Rahmen der Verleihung des FES Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

vlnr: Kurt Beck, Vorsitzender der FES, Nenad Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, und Martin Schulz, Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments, bei der Verleihung des FES-Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013

vlnr: Kurt Beck, Vorsitzender der FES, Nenad Šebek, Geschäftsführer des CDRSEE, und Martin Schulz, Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments, bei der Verleihung des FES-Menschenrechtspreises 2013. Photo: Torben Geeck, 28.10.2013

 

Im Rahmen des Gemeinsamen Geschichtsprojekts werden Lehrer_innen darin weitergebildet, wie sie mit den Lehrmaterialien des Projekts arbeiten und für sie passende Unterrichtspläne erstellen können. Sie werden zu offenen Diskussionen ermutigt und ihnen wird vermittelt, dass historische Ereignisse vielfältig interpretiert werden können. Die Lehrerinnen auf dem Photo diskutieren Lehrmaterialien in Bihać in Bosnien und Herzegowina. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

Im Rahmen des Gemeinsamen Geschichtsprojekts werden Lehrer_innen darin weitergebildet, wie sie mit den Lehrmaterialien des Projekts arbeiten und für sie passende Unterrichtspläne erstellen können. Sie werden zu offenen Diskussionen ermutigt und ihnen wird vermittelt, dass historische Ereignisse vielfältig interpretiert werden können. Die Lehrerinnen auf dem Photo diskutieren Lehrmaterialien in Bihać in Bosnien und Herzegowina. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

 

Das Gemeinsame Geschichtsprojekt des CDRSEE wurde an der Politikwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vorgestellt und regte die internationalen Studierenden zu einer lebendigen Diskussion über Geschichtsverständnisse an. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

Das Gemeinsame Geschichtsprojekt des CDRSEE wurde an der Politikwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vorgestellt und regte die internationalen Studierenden zu einer lebendigen Diskussion über Geschichtsverständnisse an. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

 

Unter dem Titel »Euro(pe) - A crisis without end?« unternahmen zwei Dutzend Studierende aus Frankreich, Deutschland und Griechenland eine Drei-Städte-Tour, auf der sie neue Antworten auf die europäische Krise entwickelten und einander mehr Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit versprachen. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

Unter dem Titel »Euro(pe) - A crisis without end?« unternahmen zwei Dutzend Studierende aus Frankreich, Deutschland und Griechenland eine Drei-Städte-Tour, auf der sie neue Antworten auf die europäische Krise entwickelten und einander mehr Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit versprachen. Photo: CDRSEE, 2013

Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2013

Menschenrechtspreis 2013

Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast Europe (CDRSEE), Griechenland

Zum politischen Kontext

Die Auflösung des ehemaligen Jugoslawien führte Ende der 1990er Jahre zur größten humanitären Katastrophe Europas seit dem II. Weltkrieg. Neben dem Verlust an Menschenleben, der Tragik massenhafter Flucht und Vertreibung und der materiellen Zerstörung war die Weltöffentlichkeit vor allem von der menschenverachtenden Brutalität der Auseinandersetzungen schockiert, die primär entlang ethnischer Grenzen verliefen. Symbolisch für die begangenen Kriegsverbrechen steht das Massaker von Srebrenica, dem bis zu 8.000 Menschen zum Opfer fielen.

Eine der Wurzeln des verheerenden Konflikts war die unzureichende Aufarbeitung der Geschichte der Region. Der frühere Bruderstaat Jugoslawien implodierte auch auf Grund von Stereotypen, Opfermythen und nationalistischer und ausgrenzender Rhetorik in Politik, Kultur und Medien. Historische Narrative dienten dazu, nationale Eigenheiten zu begründen und sich abzugrenzen von den Nachbar_innen und Angehörigen ethnischer Minderheiten.

Die staatsnahe Geschichtsschreibung und –lehre wurde verengt auf eine identitätsstiftende Nationalhistoriographie. Auch im Schulunterricht wurden Geschichte und Gegenwart nicht kritisch betrachtet. Vielmehr wurden die durch die Konflikte verstärkten Stereotype fort- und in das Bewusstsein der Schüler_innen eingeschrieben.

Inzwischen haben die Länder des sogenannten »westlichen Balkan« wichtige Schritte unternommen, um ihre Vergangenheit aufzuarbeiten und gute nachbarschaftliche Beziehungen aufzubauen – nicht zuletzt, weil das Voraussetzungen sind für eine Mitgliedschaft in der Europäischen Union. Aber Versöhnung im engeren Sinne bedarf noch größeren politischen Mutes und Willens.

Umso wichtiger ist es, der Fülle zivilgesellschaftlicher Initiativen zur Versöhnung zwischen den ehemals verfeindeten Teilrepubliken Jugoslawiens mehr Aufmerksamkeit und politischen Raum zu geben. Insbesondere leisten sie einen großen Beitrag dazu, die Ursachen und Abläufe - nicht nur der unmittelbaren Konfliktperiode - historisch aufzuarbeiten.

Der Preisträger

Der Menschenrechtspreis der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung würdigt in diesem Jahr die besonderen Verdienste des »Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast-Europe« (CDRSEE).

Die im Jahr 1998 gegründete Nichtregierungsorganisation setzt sich in Südosteuropa ein für die Stärkung demokratischer und pluralistischer Gesellschaften, europäische Werte, Marktwirtschaften, die sich an Rechtsstaatlichkeit und sozialer Verantwortung orientieren, der Inklusion von benachteiligten Gruppen und der Versöhnung zwischen den Völkern dieser Region. Sie tut dies in Form von Bildungsprogrammen, öffentlichen Debatten, konkreten Hilfs- und Vernetzungsangeboten, sowie Konferenzen und Seminaren.

Aus der Fülle der Aktivitäten sticht in unseren Augen eine besonders heraus: das »Gemeinsame Geschichtsprojekt«. Mit diesem seit 14 Jahren laufenden Projekt möchte der CDRSEE Schüler_innen und Lehrer_innen eigene Zugänge zur Geschichte der oft als »Pulverfass Balkan« betitelten Region eröffnen, die »mehr Geschichte produziere, als sie verdauen könne«.

Die in zehn Landessprachen übersetzten Geschichts-Arbeitsbücher des CDRSEE regen Lehrer_innen und Schüler_innen an, einen kritischen Blick auf historische Ereignisse und Zusammenhänge zu entwickeln. So geben sie ihnen das Rüstzeug mit für ein besseres Verständnis von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart.

Auch die politisch Verantwortlichen in den Ländern Südosteuropas konnte der CDRSEE davon überzeugen, dass historisches Wissen auf neue Arten vermittelt werden muss, wenn die gegenseitigen Stereotype und Vorurteile überwunden werden sollen. Inzwischen wurden neue Lehrkonzepte und Lehrbücher in die Curricula einiger Länder der Region aufgenommen.

Darüber hinaus fördert der CDRSEE die regionale Kooperation von Lehrer_innen und Lehrer_innenverbänden. Forscher_innen, Übersetzer_innen, Verleger_innen, Student_innen aus ganz Südosteuropa beteiligen sich an dem Projekt.

Man muss sich an das aufgeheizte und von Ressentiments – wenn nicht von Hass - geprägte Klima in der Region des »westlichen Balkan« um 1999 erinnern, um zu ermessen, mit welchem Glauben, welcher Überzeugung die Initiator_innen des »Gemeinsamen Geschichtsprojektes« die Arbeit an den Geschichts-Arbeitsbüchern für Südosteuropa begonnen haben. Die Widerstände gegen ihren Ansatz waren erwartungsgemäß groß, das berühmte »Bohren dicker Bretter« schreckte die Verantwortlichen und deren Unterstützer_innen jedoch nicht davon ab, ihr Ziel der Versöhnung und Demokratisierung zu verfolgen.

Durch ihr Engagement, ihre Courage und die bemerkenswerte Ausdauer, die sie dabei beweisen, haben sie einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Versöhnung zwischen den Ländern Südosteuropas geleistet. Diese herausragende Leistung will die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung mit der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises würdigen.

Der Menschenrechtspreis wurde am 28. Oktober 2013 in der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Berlin durch Kurt Beck an CDRSEE verliehen. Die Laudatio hielt Martin Schulz, Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments.


Zum Veranstaltungsflyer mit weiteren Informationen und Programm


Weitere Informationen: Begründung für die Nominierung Programm des Festakt und der anschließenden Podiumsdiskussion Fotos und Interviews: Fotogalerie der Preisverleihung Interview mit Nenad Šebek (CDRSEE) (engl., 7min10) Interview mit Nenad Šebek (CDRSEE) (dt. voiceover, 7min10) Rede von Nenad Šebek (CDRSEE) (engl., 6min16) Laudatio von Martin Schulz, Präsident des Europäischen Parlaments (10min52) Englische Übersetzung der Laudatio von Martin Schulz Pressestimmen zur Veranstaltung in Berlin: Ebert-Stiftung ehrt Center for Democracy and Reconciliation (WDR, 31.10.2013) Geschichte mit den Augen des Anderen sehen (Deutsche Welle, 30.10.2013) Europas Frieden bewahren (Vorwärts, 30.10.2013) Publikationen des CDRSEE Arbeitsbücher des »Gemeinsamen Geschichtsprojects« in englischer Sprache CDRSEE, 2. Auflage, 2009 Publikationen der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Unsere Verantwortung endet nicht an den Grenzen der EU Für eine engagierte Erweiterungs- und Nachbarschaftspolitik der Europäischen Union Dietmar Nietan, FES Internationale Politikanalyse, 2013 Unruhe im Preševo-Tal Zur wirtschaftlichen Dimension eines Minderheiten-Konflikts Michael Ehrke, Perspektive FES Belgrad, 2013 Monitoring regional cooperation in South East Europe Stefan Dehnert et al. (Hrsg), FES, 2012 The dynamics of conflict in the multi-ethnic state of Bosnia and Herzegovina Timo Kivimäki, Marina Kramer und Paul Pasch, FES Study, 2012 Exiting conflict, owning the peace Local ownership and peacebuilding relationships in the cases of Bosnia and Kosovo Mary Martin et al. (Hrsg.), FES Study, 2012 Weiterführende Links Website des CDRSEE