Photo: © Tribal Union of Journalists

Safdar Dawar receives the FES Human Rights Award on behalf of the
    Tribal Union of Journalists; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Safdar Dawar receives the FES Human Rights Award on behalf of the
Tribal Union of Journalists; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

 

Dr. Peter Struck, Safdar Dawar and Johannes Pflug; <br>Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Dr. Peter Struck, Safdar Dawar and Johannes Pflug;
Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

 

Ulrich Tilgner, Gemma Pörzgen and Rahimullah Yusufzai at the panel discussion during the award ceremony; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Ulrich Tilgner, Gemma Pörzgen and Rahimullah Yusufzai at the panel discussion during the award ceremony; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2012

Human Rights Award 2012

Tribal Union of Journalists (TUJ), Pakistan

Political context

Almost every day the valleys and mountains of Afghanistan and Pakistan’s rugged border region are shaken by terrorist attacks, combat missions by the Pakistani army and US drone strikes. The semi-autonomous tribal areas in Pakistan – the »Federally Administered Tribal Areas« (FATA) –constitute a distinct territory in north-western Pakistan between the Pakistani province of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and eastern Afghanistan. The Tribal Areas are in Pakistan’s national territory but enjoy special political, legal and administrative status.

Western reporting on the war and terrorism pays little attention to the more than three million people living in the remote Tribal Areas. Several hundred thousand children, women and men were forced to leave their homeland because of the fighting. Their social hardships and parlous economic plight have only got worse. The situation is characterised by rampant poverty, unemployment, political and legal discrimination, deplorable health care, sparse educational opportunities, dysfunctional administration, oppression of women and little prospect of economic development. Militant movements have exploited the weak presence of the Pakistani state in the Tribal Areas, establishing their own domains. In these circumstances, the widely respected International Crisis Group warns, in one of its recent reports, of continuing growth of militant forces in the FATA.

While the few Western reporters who dare to enter the region in pursuit of local colour at least do so under the protection of the Pakistani army, local journalists risk their lives investigating important stories in the disputed territories. And while Western leading articles on strategy in the fight against the Taliban are written at a safe distance, Pashtu-speaking local journalists need to consider before every sentence whether their report will endanger them or their families.

The Award winner

This year the Human Rights Award of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung pays tribute to the particular merits of the Pakistani journalists’ trust the »Tribal Union of Journalists« (TUJ). Located in the Tribal Areas, the TUJ has worked for 20 years to consolidate media freedom and freedom of opinion in the region. It represents around 250 journalists in the FATA, working for local, national and international print and electronic media. It was founded in 1987 by a group of local journalists.

The Human Rights Award has been bestowed on the TUJ in recognition of its support for persecuted journalists and media suppression in the Tribal Areas. The TUJ exemplifies the courage of local journalists who, at the risk of their lives, provide the outside world with crucial background information from the »black box« of the Afghan-Pakistani border region.

As a representative of journalists’ interests the Union not only seeks safety improvements for its members but also takes on tasks for which in many other countries the state and employers are responsible. For example, the TUJ takes care of social security for the families of murdered journalists. They do not receive financial help from the Pakistani state nor from the national and international press agencies they are working for.

The Human Rights Award in particular honours the TUJ’s democratic organisational culture. The association is set up in accordance with the basic principles of democratic codetermination. In a region in which people are denied the basic rights contained in the Pakistani Constitution the TUJ is a symbol of an active democratic political culture.

The award ceremony took place on 31 October 2012, 17:30 h, at Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Hiroshimastr. 17, 10785 Berlin. The laudation was held by Johannes Pflug, chairman of the Afghanistan/Pakistan-Taskforce of the SPD parliamentary group.


See the leaflet (German)

On 27 November 2012 the prize money was presented to the TUJ in Islamabad. On this occassion, a penal discussion moderated by Rahimullah Yusufzai on the situation of journalists in FATA took place and was attended by high-ranking Pakistani officials.


See the leaflet

Further Information: Reasons for nominating TUJ FES Press-Release Opening Remarks by Dr. Peter Struck, FES chairperson (German) Laudation by Johannes Pflug, MdB (German) Photos, Audio and Video Photos of the award ceremony Interview with Ramullah Yusufzai (English, 9min47) Interview with Safdar Dawar (German, 11min32) Recording of the discussion during the award ceremony (German/English, 59min42) FES Pakistan Documentary: Theater of Conflict - Reporting from FATA Media Coverage of the event in Berlin CityFM89.com-Radio Interview with Safdar Dawar (English/Pashto) The International News-Article The Express Tribune-Article by Ayesha Hasan The Express Tribune-Comment by Ayesha Hasan The Pakistan Press Foundation-Article DW-Article by Shamil Shams: German | English | Urdu Photos and Media Coverage of the event in Islamabad: The News International-Report Dawn.com-Report FES Publications on the Subject Asian Media Barometer: Pakistan 2009 FESMedia Asia Further Publications Digital Security and Journalists in Pakistan Internews Center for Innovation & Learning, May 2012 Getting Away With Murder - CPJ's 2012 Impunity Index Committee to Protect Journalists, April 2012 The Safety of Journalists and the Danger of Impunity UNESCO/IPDC, March 2012 A Safety Guidebook for Pakistani Journalists Intermedia/Khan, Aurangzaib und Rehmat, Adnan, December 2011 Mainstreaming of FATA into Pakistani Media Legal Framework Intermedia/Alam, Muhammad Aftab und Rehmat, Adnan, Briefing Paper, Nov. 2011 Gunning for Media - Journalists and Media Staff Killed in 2010 International Federation of Journalists, 2011 Links Website of FES Pakistan FES Pakistan on Facebook Asia and the Pacific Department of the FES The Human Rights working line of the FES

Photo: © Tribal Union of Journalists

Safdar Dawar nimmt den FES-Menschenrechtspreis im Namen der 
    Tribal Union of Journalists entgegen; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Safdar Dawar nimmt den FES-Menschenrechtspreis im Namen der
Tribal Union of Journalists entgegen; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

 

Dr. Peter Struck, Safdar Dawar und Johannes Pflug; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Dr. Peter Struck, Safdar Dawar und Johannes Pflug;
Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

 

Ulrich Tilgner, Gemma Pörzgen und Rahimullah Yusufzai bei der Podiumsdiskussion »Die Wahrheit stirbt im Krieg zuerst?«; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Ulrich Tilgner, Gemma Pörzgen und Rahimullah Yusufzai bei der Podiumsdiskussion »Die Wahrheit stirbt im Krieg zuerst?«; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke

Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2012

Menschenrechtspreis 2012

Tribal Union of Journalists (TUJ), Pakistan

Zum politischen Kontext

Fast täglich wird das von Tälern und Bergen zerklüftete afghanisch-pakistanische Grenzgebiet durch terroristische Anschläge, Kampfeinsätze der pakistanischen Armee und Drohnenangriffe der US-Truppen erschüttert. Die Stammesgebiete unter pakistanischer Bundesverwaltung (»Federally Administered Tribal Areas«, FATA) sind ein Sonderterritorium im Nordwesten Pakistans zwischen der pakistanischen Provinz Kyber Pakhtunkhwa und dem Osten Afghanistans. Sie gehören zum Staatsgebiet Pakistans, verfügen jedoch politisch, rechtlich und administrativ über einen besonderen Status.

Die Schicksale der mehr als drei Millionen Menschen, die in den abgeschiedenen FATA leben, finden in der westlichen Berichterstattung über Krieg und Terror nur wenig Aufmerksamkeit. Mehrere hunderttausend Kinder, Frauen und Männer mussten infolge der Kampfhandlungen ihre Heimat verlassen. Die ohnehin gravierenden sozialen Missstände und die große wirtschaftliche Not haben sich weiter verschärft. Grassierende Armut, Arbeitslosigkeit, politische und rechtliche Diskriminierung, schlechte Gesundheitsversorgung, unzureichende Bildungsangebote, dysfunktionale Verwaltungsapparate, die Benachteiligung von Frauen und geringe wirtschaftliche Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten charakterisieren die Situation. Militante Bewegungen konnten von der schwachen Präsenz des pakistanischen Staates in den FATA profitieren und ihre eigenen Herrschaftsbereiche aufbauen. Die weltweit angesehene »International Crisis Group« warnt vor diesem Hintergrund in einem ihrer jüngeren Berichte vor einem weiteren Anwachsen militanter Kräfte in den FATA.

Wo westliche Reporter, wenn überhaupt, nur unter dem Schutz der pakistanischen Armee Stimmungsbilder aufzeichnen, reisen die einheimischen Journalisten unter Einsatz ihres Lebens durch die umkämpften Gebiete, um wertvolle Informationen zu recherchieren. Wo westliche Leitartikler aus sicherer Entfernung über Strategien der Taliban-Bekämpfung schreiben, müssen die Paschtu-sprechenden Journalisten vor jedem Satz darüber nachdenken, ob ihre Nachrichten nicht sie selbst und ihre Familie in Gefahr bringen.

Der Preisträger

Der Menschenrechtspreis der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung würdigt in diesem Jahr die besonderen Verdienste des pakistanischen Journalistenverbandes »Tribal Union of Journalists« (TUJ). Der in den FATA ansässige Verband setzt sich seit über zwei Jahrzehnten für die Stärkung der Medienfreiheit und den Meinungspluralismus in den Stammesgebieten ein. Er vertritt etwa 250 Journalistinnen und Journalisten in den Stammesgebieten, die für lokale, nationale und internationale Print- und elektronische Medien arbeiten. Er wurde 1987 durch eine Gruppe von einheimischen Journalistinnen und Journalisten gegründet.

Mit der Vergabe des Menschenrechtspreises wird die TUJ für ihre Unterstützung von verfolgten Journalisten und unterdrückten Medien in den Stammesgebieten ausgezeichnet. Die TUJ steht für den Mut der Journalistinnen und Journalisten vor Ort, die unter Einsatz ihres Lebens wertvolle Hintergrundinformationen aus der »Blackbox« der afghanisch-pakistanischen Grenzregion in alle Welt transportieren.

Als Interessensvertreter von Journalisten setzt sich der Journalistenverband nicht nur für eine verbesserte Sicherheit seiner Mitglieder ein. Er nimmt auch Aufgaben wahr, für die in vielen anderen Ländern Staat und Arbeitgeber verantwortlich sind. Etwa kümmert sich die TUJ um die soziale Absicherung der Familien von ermordeten Journalisten. Diese erhielten bisher weder finanzielle Hilfen vom pakistanischen Staat noch von den nationalen und internationalen Presseagenturen, für die sie arbeiteten.

In besonderer Anerkennung ehrt der Menschenrechtspreis die TUJ zudem für ihre demokratische Organisationskultur. Der Verband ist nach den Grundsätzen der demokratischen Mitbestimmung organisiert. In einer Region, in der den Menschen die Grundrechte der pakistanischen Verfassung vorenthalten werden, ist die TUJ ein Symbol für eine gelebte demokratische politische Kultur.

Der Menschenrechtspreis wurde am 31. Oktober 2012 um 17:30 Uhr in der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Hiroshimastr. 17, 10785 Berlin durch Peter Struck an die TUJ verliehen. Die Laudatio hielt Johannes Pflug, Vorsitzender der Afghanistan/Pakistan-Taskforce der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion.


Zum Flyer

Am 27. November 2012 wurde in Islamabad das Preisgeld an die TUJ übergeben. Die begleitende Podiumsdiskussion über die Situation der Journalist_innen in der FATA wurde von Rahimullah Yusufzai moderiert und fand unter der Beteiligung hochrangiger, pakistanischer Politiker_innen statt.


Zum Flyer
(engl.)

Weitere Informationen: Begründung für die Nominierung Presseerklärung der FES Eröffnungsrede von Dr. Peter Struck, Vorsitzender der FES Laudatio von Johannes Pflug, MdB Fotos, Interviews und Videos: Fotogalerie der Preisverleihung Interview mit Ramullah Yusufzai (engl., 9min47) Interview mit Safdar Dawar (11min32) Mitschnitt der Diskussion »Die Wahrheit stirbt im Krieg zuerst?« (dt./engl., 59min42) Dokumentation der FES Pakistan: Theater of Conflict - Reporting from FATA Pressestimmen zur Veranstaltung in Berlin: Deutschlandradio-Interview mit K. Bärwaldt (dt., 1min23) aus: Markt und Medien vom 03.11.2012 CityFM89.com-Radiointerview mit Safdar Dawar (engl./Paschtu) Die Welt-Artikel von Dietrich Alexander The International News-Artikel (engl.) The Express Tribune-Artikel von Ayesha Hasan (engl.) The Express Tribune-Kommentar von Ayesha Hasan (engl.) The Pakistan Press Foundation-Artikel (engl.) DW-Artikel von Shamil Shams: Deutsch | Englisch | Urdu Bilder und Pressestimmen zur Veranstaltung in Islamabad: The News International-Bericht (engl.) Dawn.com-Bericht (engl.) Publikationen der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Pakistanischer Frühling in weiter Ferne? Michaelsen, Marcus, FES Perspektive, September 2011 Asian Media Barometer: Pakistan 2009 FESMedia Asia Weitere Publikationen Digital Security and Journalists in Pakistan Internews Center for Innovation & Learning, Mai 2012 Getting Away With Murder - CPJ's 2012 Impunity Index Committee to Protect Journalists, April 2012 The Safety of Journalists and the Danger of Impunity UNESCO/IPDC, März 2012 A Safety Guidebook for Pakistani Journalists Intermedia/Khan, Aurangzaib und Rehmat, Adnan, Dezember 2011 Mainstreaming of FATA into Pakistani Media Legal Framework Intermedia/Alam, Muhammad Aftab und Rehmat, Adnan, Briefing Paper, Nov. 2011 Gunning for Media - Journalists and Media Staff Killed in 2010 International Federation of Journalists, 2011 Weiterführende Links Website der FES in Pakistan Facebook-Profil der FES in Pakistan Das Referat Asien und Pazifik der FES Der Arbeitsbereich Menschenrechte der FES