You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2010

Human Rights Award 2010

Marcelina Bautista Bautista, Mexico

Political context

Articles 23, 24 and 25 of the General Declaration of Human Rights establish the right of every person to a fair wage, social security, reasonable limitation of working hours and regular paid holidays. However, millions of domestic staff, predominantly women, are denied decent working conditions and the protection that goes with them. Domestic service is particularly widespread in Latin America, the region with the most egregious social inequalities. Besides poor and exploitative working conditions domestic workers often have no social insurance. Their right to form trade unions is hindered or even denied. Domestic workers in many countries are not covered by labour legislation, making this excluded occupational group particularly vulnerable to labour and human rights abuses. The ILO aims to adopt a binding international agreement in 2011, laying down minimum standards for »decent« work for domestic employees.

In Mexico, the state of domestic workers’ labour rights is appalling. Around 2 million Mexican women work in households, sometimes in conditions of near-slavery. Since 1930, domestic workers have been calling for an adequate wage and an eight-hour day. Mexican labour still does not recognise domestic service as »work«: it is described as »help« given to the employer, which must be carried out at the latter’s direction. According to some estimates, only around 5 per cent of the 2 million domestic workers have a written contract. Only around 0.01 per cent have social insurance. Apart from the fact that domestic workers have no kind of social protection, because of their status outside the law they often receive less than the statutory minimum wage.

The Award winner

In bestowing its Human Rights Award on Mexican Marcelina Bautista the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung is honouring her commitment to the struggle against the unfair working conditions under which domestic workers – also in other regions – suffer.

Marcelina Bautista is Secretary General of the Confederation of Domestic Workers in Latin America and the Caribbean (Confederación de Latinoamérica y el Caribe de las Trabajadoras del Hogar – CONLACTRAHO) and founder of an advice centre for domestic workers in Mexico (Centro de Apoyo y Capacitación para Empleadas del Hogar – CACEH). In her position as Director of the CACEH advice centre she fights, under difficult conditions, for legal protection and trade union representation for domestic workers in Mexico.

The award ceremony will take place on 2 December 2010 from 15.00 to 18.30 h at House 2 of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin, Hiroshimastr. 28; the laudation will be held by Michael Sommer, President of the Confederation of German Trade Unions (DGB).

Listen to our interview with the awardee

Further Information:
Reasons for nominating Ms Bautista for the Human Rights Award (PDF) Programme of the Award Ceremony and Panel Discussion Press Release (available only in German) FES Publications on the subject of domestic workers From »Good Spirit« to Employee? Strenghtening Domestic Workers' Employment Rights in Latin America by Katharina Meier, FES Berlin 2010 Open publication as pdf Las otras caras de la crisis von Rebeca Salazar Ramírez und Hilda Salazar Ramírez International Gender and Trade Network, Mexico 2009 Open publication as pdf Guiá de organización sindical von Jorge Robles (Hrsg.), Fundación Friedrich Ebert, Mexico 2009 Open publication as pdf Strenghening Labour Rights in Domestic Work: Experiences from Latin America Mary Rosaria Goldsmith Connelly et al, Fundación Friedrich Ebert Uruguay, 2010 Open publication as pdf Links "Women's Economic Empowerment" - Portrait of the award winner Decent Work for Domestic Workers ITUC on Domestic Work ITUC Interview with Marcelina Bautista Intl. Domestic Workers' Network Women in Informal Employment El Proyecto FES Sindical Regional The Human Rights field at the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung (in German)

Teaserbild
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2010

Menschenrechtspreis 2010

Marcelina Bautista Bautista, Mexiko

Zum politischen Kontext

Die Artikel 23, 24 und 25 der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte schreiben das Recht eines jeden Menschen auf gerechte Entlohnung, auf soziale Sicherheit sowie auf eine vernünftige Begrenzung der Arbeitszeit und regelmäßig bezahlten Urlaub fest. Dennoch wird Millionen von Hausangestellten, überwiegend Frauen, eine menschenwürdige Arbeit und der damit verbundene Schutz vorenthalten. Besonders in Lateinamerika, der Region mit den größten sozialen Ungleichheiten, ist die Tätigkeit als Hausangestellte ein weit verbreitetes Phänomen. Neben schlechten und ausbeuterischen Arbeitsbedingungen haben Hausangestellte oft keine soziale Absicherung. Das Recht, sich in Gewerkschaften zusammenzuschließen, wird ihnen erschwert oder gar verwehrt. Hausangestellte fallen in vielen Staaten nicht unter die Arbeitsgesetzgebung, so dass diese ausgegrenzte Berufsgruppe besonders anfällig gegenüber Verletzungen ihrer grundlegenden Arbeits- und Menschenrechte ist. Ziel der ILO ist es, 2011 ein international bindendes Übereinkommen zu verabschieden, welches Mindeststandards für 'gute' Arbeit von Hausangestellten festlegt.

In Mexiko ist der Stand der Arbeitnehmerrechte von Hausangestellten dramatisch schlecht. Etwa zwei Millionen Mexikanerinnen arbeiten in Haushalten unter zum Teil sklavenähnlichen Zuständen. Seit 1930 fordern Hausangestellte einen angemessenen Lohn und einen Acht-Stunden-Tag. Bisher erkennt das nationale Arbeitsrecht Mexikos die wirtschaftliche Tätigkeit von Hausangestellten nicht als Arbeit an: sie wird als 'Hilfe' für den Arbeitgeber beschrieben, die sich nach seinen Vorgaben zu richten habe. Schätzungen zufolge haben nur etwa fünf Prozent der zwei Millionen Hausangestellten einen schriftlichen Arbeitsvertrag. Nur etwa 0,01 Prozent der Hausangestellten sind sozialversichert. Neben der Tatsache, dass die Hausangestellten über keinerlei soziale Absicherungen verfügen, erhalten sie aufgrund ihrer rechtlosen Stellung oft weniger als den gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Mindestlohn.

Die Preisträgerin

Mit der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises an die Mexikanerin Marcelina Bautista Bautista ehrt die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung ihren Einsatz im Kampf gegen die ungerechten Arbeitsbedingungen unter denen Hausangestellte - in Lateinamerika und auch in anderen Regionen - leiden.

Marcelina Bautista ist Generalsekretärin der Konföderation der Hausangestellten in Lateinamerika und der Karibik (Confederación de Latinoamérica y el Caribe de las Trabajadoras del Hogar – CONLACTRAHO) und Gründerin eines Beratungszentrums für Hausangestellte in Mexiko (Centro de Apoyo y Capacitación para Empleadas del Hogar - CACEH). In ihrer Funktion als Direktorin des Beratungszentrums CACEH setzt sie sich unter schwierigen Bedingungen für den Rechtsschutz sowie die gewerkschaftliche Interessenvertretung von Hausangestellten in Mexiko ein.

Die Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises an Marcelina Bautista Bautista wird am
2. Dezember 2010 von 15.00 - 18.30 Uhr im Haus 2
der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung in Berlin, Hiroshimastr. 28, stattfinden; die Laudatio hält DGB-Chef Michael Sommer.

zum Interview mit Marcelina Bautista Bautista

Weitere Informationen:
Programm zur Preisverleihung und Podiumsdiskussion Begründung für die Nominierung von M. Bautista für den Menschenrechtspreis Pressemitteilung/-einladung öffnen Presseecho zur Preisverleihung Kämpfen für Putzfrauen zum Artikel auf Vorwärts.de (3.12.2010) Moderne Sklaverei Der Kampf gegen die Ausbeutung von Hausangestellten ist international zum Artikel bei Neues Deutschland (1.12.2010) Publikationen der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Vom "guten Geist" zur Arbeitnehmerin? Lateinamerikanische Erfahrungen mit der Stärkung der Arbeitnehmerrechte von Hausangestellten, von Katharina Meier, FES Berlin 2010 Die Publikation im PDF-Format Las otras caras de la crisis von Rebeca Salazar Ramírez und Hilda Salazar Ramírez International Gender and Trade Network, Mexico 2009 Die Publikation im PDF-Format Guiá de organización sindical von Jorge Robles (Hrsg.), Fundación Friedrich Ebert, Mexico 2009 Die Publikation im pdf-Format Stärkung der Arbeitnehmerrechte im Haushaltssektor: Erfahrungen aus Lateinam. Mary Rosaria Goldsmith Connelly et al, Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung Uruguay, 2010 Open publication as pdf Weiterführende Links "Women's Economic Empowerment" - Portrait der Preisträgerin (in English) Decent Work for Domestic Workers ITUC on Domestic Work ITUC Interview with Marcelina Bautista Intl. Domestic Workers' Network Women in Informal Employment El Proyecto FES Sindical Regional Der Arbeitsbereich Menschenrechte der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung