Head
Zhanna Litvina
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2008

Human Rights Award 2008

Zhanna Litvina, Belarusian

Political context

Every person has not only the right of freedom of speech and opinion, but also unrestricted access to free and widely diversified sources of information (Article 19 of the UNO Charter of Human Rights). To this end, the media serve as an important, intermediary function. They are indispensable for the independent reporting of national and international events. If, however, a country’s government suppresses the exercise of free journalism with the goal of preventing social injustices to become public, questionable situations are bound to arise.

According to the authoritarian government of Belarus, the media must inure to the benefit of government itself, with any criticism of its actions deemed illegal. For these special reasons, journalists, eager to stay true to their ideals of independent reporting in the face of artificial obstacles, find themselves confronted with many challenges.

Within the framework of its promotion of democracy, the Friedrich-Ebert Foundation supports the media in Belarus to become an open platform for the free expression of diverging opinions with respect to government actions, politics, and society at large, together with the development of a democratic forum for public opinion, ultimately leading to control of political and economic power.

The Awardee

By awarding this year’s Human Rights Award to Zhanna Litvina, the Friedrich-Ebert Foundation honours a journalist who distinguished herself by pursuing a courageous and enduring struggle for media freedom and a commitment to the free exercise of pluralistic opinions in Belarus. In spite of all intimidation campaigns and threats waged against her, Zhanna Litvina and her Association of Journalists are courageously fighting her government’s control of the mass media. Zhanna Litvina is a valuable conduit to the Western world as it concerns the relaying of information on the state of media freedom in Belarus.

Zhanna Litvina, born on August 30th, 1954 in Minsk, is chairwoman of the Belarusian Association of Journalists since 1995. After studying Journalism at the Belarusian State University, Zhanna Litvina was employed for nearly twenty years at the state television and radio station. She was head of the main editorial office for broadcasts directed at a younger audience.

1995, following her dismissal from the state radio station, Zhanna Litvina founded, together with some colleagues, the independent city radio station for music and information, “Radio 101.2”. Due to its young and professional hosts, its critical reporting and program content derived from the BBC and DW, the radio station became one of the most successful and popular FM outlets in Belarus. In 1996, the Belarusian authorities shut down the station.

In addition, she had been editor-in-chief of the radio station “Belorusskaja Molodjeschnaja”, which was equally shut down for political reasons.

From 1994 until 1999, Zhanna Litvina was director of the radio station “Liberty” (“Radio Swoboda”) in Minsk.

Belarusian Association of Journalists

Founded in 1995 by a group of journalists, the association’s mission is to fight the arbitrary dismissal of journalists. Zhanna Litvina was unanimously elected chairwoman.

The association’s chief focus is on the protection of journalists’ rights. It organizes conferences and offers workshops as well as training programs.

Zhanna Litvina with her colleagues
Zhanna Litvina with her colleagues from the Association of Journalists

During its first years of existence, the association has established contacts with several international organizations, such as the “International Federation of Journalists” (IFJ), “Article 19”, “Reporters Without Borders”, “Committee for the Protection of Journalists” (CPJ), “World Association of Newspapers” (WAN), or “European Federation of Journalists” (EFJ).

The organization was honoured with several international awards. In 2003, it received the “Golden Pen of Freedom”. Additionally, the European Parliament awarded the association its “Sacharow Prize” in 2004.

Currently, the association has 1,200 members, including employees of governmental and non-governmental mass media.

Weitere Informationen
Publications Resolution of the European Parliament on the Freedom of the Press in Belarus Brussels, 2002 Freedom of the Press Rankings 2008 Reporters Without Borders Reporters Without Borders—Annual Report 2008 Links Website FES, Department Central and Eastern Europe Friedrich-Ebert Foundation, Regional Office Ukraine and Belarus

Teaserbild
Zhanna Litvina
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2008

Menschenrechtspreis 2008

Zhanna Litvina, Weißrussland

Zum politischen Kontext

Jeder Mensch hat das Recht auf Meinungsfreiheit und Meinungsäußerung, aber auch auf einen ungehinderten Zugang zu freien und vielfältigen Informationsquellen (Artikel 19 der Menschenrechtscharta der UNO). Die Medien spielen in diesem Kontext als Mittler eine wichtige Rolle. Sie sind für unabhängige Berichte über Geschehnisse im In- und Ausland unentbehrlich. Problematisch wird es jedoch, wenn die Regierung in einem Land keinen freien Journalismus zulässt, um die Missstände im Land nicht an die Öffentlichkeit dringen zu lassen.

Im autoritär regierten Weißrussland , sollen die Medien der Regierung zugute kommen und dürfen daher keine Kritik an ihr ausüben. Besonders schwer haben es Journalistinnen und Journalisten, die trotz aller Hürden ihrer eigentlichen Arbeit, der unabhängigen Berichterstattung, nachgehen wollen.

Die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung setzt sich im Rahmen ihrer Arbeit im Bereich der Demokratieförderung dafür ein, dass weißrussische Medien zu einer offenen Plattform für die Artikulation unterschiedlicher Interessen in Staat, Politik und Gesellschaft werden und dass demokratische Meinungsbildung und die Kontrolle politischer und wirtschaftlicher Macht sich entwickeln.

Die Preisträgerin

Mit der Verleihung des diesjährigen Menschenrechtspreises an Zhanna Litvina ehrt die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung eine Journalistin, die sich durch ihren mehrjährigen mutigen Einsatz für die Medienfreiheit und den Meinungspluralismus in Weißrussland auszeichnet. Trotz aller Einschüchterungsversuche und Bedrohungen kämpft Frau Litvina und der von ihr geleitete Journalistenverband gegen die staatliche Kontrolle der Massenmedien. Für den Westen ist Frau Litvina das Sprachrohr, das über den Umgang mit der Medienfreiheit in Weißrussland Auskunft geben kann.

Zhanna Litvina, geboren am 30. August 1954 in Minsk, ist seit 1995 die Vorsitzende des weißrussischen Journalistenverbandes. Nach dem Journalistikstudium an der Belarussischen Staatlichen Universität war Frau Litvina für knapp zwanzig Jahre beim staatlichen Fernseh- und Radiosender tätig. Dort leitete sie die Chefredaktion der Sendungen für Jugendliche. Im Jahre 1995, nach der Entlassung vom staatlichen Radiosender, gründete Frau Litvina zusammen mit ihren Kollegen, einen unabhängigen Stadtradiosender „Radio 101,2“, ein Informations- und Musiksender. Junge professionelle Moderatoren, kritische Berichterstattungen sowie Autorenprogramme von BBC und DW machten den Radiosender zum erfolgreichsten und populärsten FM-Radio in Belarus bis er im Jahr 1996 von den weißrussischen Behörden geschlossen wurde.

Sie war außerdem Chefredakteurin des Radiosenders „Belorusskaja Molodjeschnaja“, der ebenso aus politischen Gründen geschlossen wurde.

Von 1994 bis1999 leitete Frau Litvina das Büro des Radiosenders „Liberty“ („Radio Swoboda“) in Minsk.

Weisrussischer Journalistenverband

Gegründet wurde der Verband im Jahr 1995 auf Initiative einer Gruppe von Journalisten, die sich gegen die Entlassung von Journalisten wehren wollte. Frau Litvina wurde einstimmig als Vorsitzende gewählt.

Schwerpunktsarbeit des Verbandes ist der Schutz des Rechtes der Journalisten. Der Verband organisiert Konferenzen und bietet Seminare sowie Weiterbildungsprogramme an.

Frau Litvina mit den Kollegen des Journalistenverbandes
Frau Litvina mit den Kollegen des Journalistenverbandes

In den ersten Jahren der Tätigkeit hat die Assoziation Kontakte mit mehreren internationalen Organisationen aufgebaut unter anderem die „Internationale Föderation der Journalisten“ (IFJ), “Article 19”, “Reporter ohne Grenzen”, „Komitee des Schutzes von Journalisten“ (CPJ), „Internationale Assoziation der Zeitungen“ (WAN), bzw. „Europäische Föderation der Journalisten“ (EFJ).

Die Organisation wurde durch mehrere internationale Preise ausgezeichnet. Im Jahre 2003 hat der Verband die “Goldene Feder der Freiheit” bekommen. Zudem wurde der Verband im 2004 von Europaparlament mit den „Sacharow-Preis “ ausgezeichnet.

Zur Zeit hat der Verband 1.200 Mitglieder, darunter sowohl Mitarbeiter der stattlichen als auch der nichtstaatlichen Massenmedien.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Programm Entschließung des Europäischen Parlaments zur Pressefreiheit in Belarus Brüssel, 2002 Rangliste der Pressefreiheit 2008 Reporter ohne Grenzen Jahresbericht Reporter ohne Grenzen 2008 Links Website des Referats Mittel- und Osteuropa der FES Regionalbüro Ukraine und Belarus der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung