Header
Wahrheitskommissionen
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2005

Human Rights Award 2005

Truth Commissions of Chile and Peru –
Lawyers of Human Rights

Political context

The protection of human rights is one of the most important political values of all democratic states in Latin America. In the last decades, serious violations of human rights occurred. In some countries they were aimed at political oppositionists to military dictators (as in Chile), in other countries more against the indigenous people (as in Peru). Truth Commissions are globally recognized as valid measures to account for systematic violations of human rights by the government or terrorist groups. In 2004, the National Commission on Political Imprisonment and Torture provided the first human rights report, which listed survivors and provided a vocal advocate. The report documents the institutionalisation of political imprisonment and torture in the Pinochet era and proves that they were initiated by the highest decision-makers of the dictatorship. In Peru, extreme acts of violence were committed by the Maoist Guerrilla and the military; they were mostly aimed at indigenous people. Shedding light on these systematic violations of human rights was the major goal of the Commission for Truth and Reconciliation and their final report was provided in 2003.

Some impressions of the award

The Awardees

By awarding María Luisa Sepúlveda Edwards and Dr. Salomón Lerner Febres, the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung honours the merits of the Chilean and Peruvian Commissions to resolve violations of human rights.

María Luisa Sepúlveda Edwards was managing chairwoman of the Chilean Commission. Since 1973, the certified social worker supported the victims of human rights violations and their families. Dr. Salomón Lerner Febres was chairman of the Peruvian Truth Commission. The former principal of the Catholic University of Lima has exposed the ethnic element of the armed conflict by providing the final report to the Peruvian society.

Further Information
Publications Brochure on the Human Rights Award 2005 (German / Spanish) Links to Publications Summary report of the Truth Commission in Peru Report of the Truth Commission in Chile complete report provided by the US Institute of Peace Latin America: A lot of democracy, not much state and even less social progress. Wolf Grabendorff. - Berlin: FES Department of Development Policy, 2007 Links Website of the Truth Commission in Peru Website of the US Institute of Peace ‚Truth Commissions Digital Collection’. Information about all Truth Commissions worldwide with further links Website of the International Center on Transitional Justice, New York Website of the FES Department Latin America and the Caribbean (German) Website of the FES Office Peru (Spanish) Website of the FES Office Chile (Spanish)

Teaserbild
Wahrheitskommissionen
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2005

Menschenrechtspreis 2005

Wahrheitskommissionen von Chile und Peru –
Anwälte der Menschenrechte

Zum politischen Kontext

Die Wahrung der Menschenrechte zählt heute zum politischen Wertekanon der demokratischen Staaten in Lateinamerika. In den vergangenen Jahrzehnten wurden dort schwerste Menschenrechtsverletzungen verübt. In einigen Ländern trafen sie primär politische Gegner der Militärmachthaber (so in Chile), in anderen vorrangig die indigene Bevölkerung (wie in Peru). Wahrheitskommissionen gelten weltweit als erprobtes Mittel zur Aufarbeitung von systematisch verübten Menschenrechtsverletzungen durch den Staat oder terroristische Gruppen. In Chile legte Ende 2004 die Nationale Kommission zu politischer Gefangenschaft und Folter den ersten Menschenrechtsbericht vor, der die überlebenden Opfer benennt und zu Wort kommen lässt. Der Bericht dokumentiert die Institutionalisierung von politischer Haft und Folter in der Ära Pinochet und belegt deren Initiierung durch die obersten Entscheidungsträger der Diktatur. In Peru gingen die Gewaltexzesse von der maoistischen Guerilla und vom Militär aus; sie trafen vorrangig die indigene Bevölkerung. Der Aufklärung dieser systematisch verübten Menschenrechtsverletzungen hatte sich die Kommission für Wahrheit und Versöhnung verschrieben, die ihren Abschlussbericht 2003 vorlegte.

Preisverleihung 2005 Preisverleihung 2005 Preisverleihung 2005 Einige Eindrücke der Verleihung in Bildern

Die Preisträger

Mit der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises an María Luisa Sepúlveda Edwards und Dr. Salomón Lerner Febres ehrt die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung die Verdienste der chilenischen und peruanischen Kommissionen zur Aufklärung von Menschenrechtsverletzungen.

María Luisa Sepúlveda Edwards war die geschäftsführende Vorsitzende der chilenischen Kommission. Bereits seit 1973 unterstützt die diplomierte Sozialarbeiterin die Opfer von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und deren Angehörige. Dr. Salomón Lerner Febres war Vorsitzender der peruanischen Wahrheitskommission. Der ehemalige Rektor der katholischen Universität von Lima hat bei der Übergabe des Abschlussberichtes der peruanischen Gesellschaft den Blick geöffnet für die ethnische Komponente der bewaffneten Auseinandersetzung.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Programm Artikel zum Menschenrechtspreis 2005 im FES info Broschüre zum Menschenrechtspreis 2005 (Deutsch/Spanisch) Links zu Publikationen Zusammenfassung des Berichtes der Wahrheitskommission in Peru (Englisch) Bericht der Wahrheitskommission in Chile (Englisch) gesamter Bericht bereitgestellt vom US Institute of Peace Lateinamerika: Viel Demokratie, wenig Staat und kaum sozialer Fortschritt Wolf Grabendorff. - Berlin: FES, Referat Entwicklungspolitik, 2007 Links Website der Wahrheitskommission in Peru (Englisch) Website der ‚Truth Commissions Digital Collection’ des US Institute of Peace Infos zu allen bisherigen Wahrheitskommissionen weltweit mit weiteren Links Website des International Center on Transitional Justice, New York Website des Referats Lateinamerika der FES Website des Landesbüros Peru der FES (Spanisch) Website des Landesbüros Chile der FES (Spanisch)