Head
Abel Alier and Mahgoub Mohamed Salih, Sudan
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2004

Human Rights Award 2004

Abel Alier and Mahgoub Mohamed Salih, Sudan

Political context

After a civil war that lasted many decades, the comprehensive peace treaty between North and South Sudan was signed on January 9, 2005 in Kenya. Today - 2 1/2 years later - the implementation of the peace treaty is coming to a standstill and the foundation of trust between North- and South-Sudan is unravelling dramatically. While the country is heading for its first free elections for decades and a referendum on the independence of South Sudan is to be held in 2011, there are still no visible substantial improvements in democratising the country. Additionally, the newly escalated Darfur War (Western Sudan) and crises in other regions jeopardise the stability of the country. If the political difficulties are not surmounted towards a peaceful integration of the regions into the political system of Sudan, the disintegration of Sudan is inevitable.

Human rights award 2004 Human rights award 2004 Human rights award 2004 Some impressions of the award

The Awardees

With the Human Rights Award 2004, the journalist Mahgoub Mohamed Salih and human rights lawyer Abel Alier are honoured for being leading voices for peace and human rights in Sudan.

Alier and Salih are two symbolic figures, who are respected throughout the country and by all generations. Due to the completely split society of Sudan, the presentation of the FES-Human Rights Award to a South and a North Sudanese is symbolic for the reconciliation between the two parts of the country. It represents the appreciation of these two outstanding characters and sets a positive example in difficult times.

Further Information
Publications Brochure on the Human Rights Award 2004 (German) Links to Publications The Performance of the CPA's National Institutions and the Future of Sudan. Peter Adwok Nyaba (Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, 2007) Links Website of the International Crisis Group – Sudan. Current website dedicated to the crisis in Darfur, including background information about the political situation and humanitarian circumstances as well as links to aid organisations and UN-organisations Website of the ‚United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs’ with reports on the humanitarian situation in Darfur (quarterly) and on the situation in Southern Sudan (weekly) Website of the FES Department Middle East and North Africa (German) Website of the FES Office Sudan Website of the FES Conflict Transformation Team (German)

Teaserbild
Abel Alier und Mahgoub Mohamed Salih
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2004

Menschenrechtspreis 2004

Abel Alier und Mahgoub Mohamed Salih, Sudan

Zum politischen Kontext

Nach jahrzehntelangem Bürgerkrieg wurde der umfassende Friedensvertrag zwischen Nord und Südsudan am 9. Januar 2005 in Kenia unterzeichnet. Mittlerweile -zweieinhalb Jahre nach dem Friedensschluss - gerät die Umsetzung des Friedensvertrag in Stocken und die Vertrauensbasis zwischen Nord und Südsudan verschlechtert sich wieder dramatisch. Während das Land auf die ersten freien Wahlen seit Jahrzehnten zusteuert und 2011 ein Referendum über die Unanhängigkeit des Südsudan abgehalten werden soll, sind noch keine substantiellen Fortschritte in der Demokratisierung des Landes zu verzeichnen. Zudem gefährden der wieder eskalierte Darfurkrieg (Westsudan) und Krisen in anderen Regionen die Stabilität des Sudan. Sollte die politische Systemkrise nicht im Sinne einer friedlichen Integration der Regionen in das politische System des Sudan überwunden werden, droht eine Desintegration des Sudan.

Preisverleihung 2004 Preisverleihung 2004 Preisverleihung 2004 Einige Eindrücke der Verleihung in Bildern

Die Preisträger

Mit der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises 2004 wird der Journalist Mahgoub Mohamed Salih und der Menschenrechtsanwalt Abel Alier als führende Stimmen für Frieden und Menschenrechte im Sudan geehrt.

Alier und Salih sind zwei der wenigen nationalen Symbolfiguren, die im ganzen Land und von allen Generationen anerkannt werden. Unter den Bedingungen der tief gespaltenen Gesellschaft des Sudan versteht sich die Verleihung des FES-Menschenrechtspreises an einen Süd- und einen Nordsudanesen als Beitrag zu Versöhnung der verschiedenen Landesteile. Sie stellt eine Würdigung dieser beiden herausragenden Persönlichkeiten dar und will in schwierigen Zeiten ein positives Signal setzen.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Artikel zum Menschenrechtspreis 2004 im FES info Broschüre zum Menschenrechtspreis 2004 Links zu Publikationen The Performance of the CPA's National Institutions and the Future of Sudan Peter Adwok Nyaba (Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, 2007 Links Website der International Crisis Group - Sudan Aktuelle Website zur Krise in Darfur mit Hintergrundinformationen zur politischen Situation und humanitären Lage und weiterführenden Links zu Hilfsorganisationen und der UN-Organisationen Website des ‚United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs’ Mit Berichten zur humanitären Situation in Darfur (vierteljährlich) und Berichten zur Lage im südlichen Sudan (wöchentlich) Website des Referats Naher / Mittlerer Osten und Nordafrika der FES Website des FES Landesbüros Sudan Website zum Thementeam Krisenprävention und Zivile Konfliktbearbeitung, FES