Head
International Tribunal for Ruanda
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2003

Human Rights Award 2003

International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR)

Political context

In 1994, over a few weeks, 800,000 people fell victim to genocide in Rwanda - in front of the whole world. Following the grave violations of human rights, the International Criminal Tribunal of Rwanda was set up by the UN Security Council under resolution no. 955 of November 8th, 1994, pursuant to chapter VII of the UN-Charter. The Security Council decided to locate the Tribunal in Arusha, Tanzania. The Tribunal is to bring to justice those individuals who committed acts of genocide and other severe violations of human rights during the period from January 1st to December 31st, 1994. It also applies also Rwandan citizens who committed such crimes in the neighbouring countries of Rwanda.

Human rights award 2003 Human rights award 2003 Human rights award 2003 Some impressions of the award

The Awardee

With this Human Rights Award, the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung honours the International Tribunal for Rwanda, which contributes to national reconciliation and to the preservation and re-establishment of peace in the region.

In this legal limbo, the Tribunal must represent the rules of law and criminal jurisdiction. The Tribunal is contributing to the implementation of humanitarian laws of nations and to the development of the International Criminal Law.

In the criminal court of Arusha, three Chambers with 16 judges together deal with genocide, crimes against humanity and other crimes that have been committed by Rwandan people on Rwandan territory. When the Tribunal began its work in 1995, it was not able to cope with the situation in terms of manpower as well as logistically. There were no court rooms and almost no technical equipment. Nonetheless, the first charge was been presented in November 1995. The difficult working conditions that the judges of the Tribunal encountered during the foundation have since improved. Today, there are three court rooms and more than 900 employees working for the Tribunal. Right now, trials of 60 people are either already concluded or still pending (status from May 15th, 2007). One of those sentenced is Jean Kambandas, former Prime Minister of Rwanda. Currently, eight accused are awaiting the start of the court proceedings. The Tribunal plans to have concluded the trials of 65-70 people by the end of 2008.

Further Information
Publications Brochure on the Human Rights Award 2003 (German) Links to Publications Rwanda: The Preventable Genocide Report of the Committee to investigate genocide in Rwanda and the failure of intervention, provided by the former organisation of African Unity (today: African Union) Reconciliation in Post-genocide Rwanda By Eugenia Zorbas, in: African Journal of Legal Studies. Jahrgang 1, Nr. 1 (2004) Explaining the 1994 genocide in Rwanda By Helen M. Hintjens, in: Journal of Modern African Studies. Jahrgang 37, Nr. 2 (1999), pp. 241-286 Sub-Sahara Africa: The Rediscovery of a Continent. Ulrich Golaszinski - Berlin: FES Department of Development Policy, 2007 Links Website of the International Tribunal for Rwanda Website „Institut für Diaspora- und Genozidforschung“, Ruhr-Uni-Bochum (German) Website of the ‚Genocide Studies Program’ at Yale University Website of the FES Department for Africa (German)

Teaserbild
Internationale Tribunal für Ruanda
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2003

Menschenrechtspreis 2003

Internationale Tribunal für Ruanda (ICTR)

Zum politischen Kontext

Im Jahr 1994 fielen in Ruanda innerhalb nur weniger Wochen 800.000 Menschen einem Völkermord zum Opfer – vor den Augen der Weltöffentlichkeit. Aufgrund der schwerwiegenden Menschenrechtsverletzungen wurde gemäß Kapitel VII der UN-Charta durch den UN-Sicherheitsrat mit Resolution Nr. 955 vom 8. November 1994 der Internationale Strafgerichtshof für Ruanda eingerichtet. Der Sicherheitsrat legte als Sitz des Tribunals Arusha in Tansania fest. Das Tribunal soll Personen zur Verantwortung ziehen, die sich in der Zeit vom 1. Januar bis 31. Dezember 1994 auf dem Gebiet von Ruanda des Völkermordes und anderer schwerer Verletzungen der Menschenrechte schuldig gemacht haben. Dies gilt auch für ruandische Bürger, die solche Verbrechen während dieser Zeit in Nachbarländern Ruandas begangen haben.

Preisverleihung 2003 Preisverleihung 2003 Preisverleihung 2003 Einige Eindrücke der Verleihung in Bildern

Der Preisträger

Mit der Verleihung des Menschenrechtspreises ehrt die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung das Internationale Tribunal für Ruanda, welches zum Prozess der nationalen Versöhnung in Ruanda beiträgt und die Erhaltung bzw. Wiederherstellung des Friedens in der Region unterstützt.

Das Tribunal muss sich in einem rechtlichen Vakuum bemühen, die Prinzipien der Rechtsstaatlichkeit und der Strafgerichtsbarkeit neu zur Geltung zu bringen. Durch seine Arbeit trägt das Tribunal zur Durchsetzung des humanitären Völkerrechts bei und leistet einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur Fortentwicklung des internationalen Völkerstrafrechts.

Drei Kammern mit insgesamt 16 Richterinnen und Richtern befassen sich am Sitz des Strafgerichtshofs in Arusha mit den Delikten Völkermord, Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit und weiteren Straftaten, die damals von Ruandern oder auf ruandischem Territorium begangen wurden. Als das Tribunal im Jahre 1995 seine Arbeit aufnahm, war es seiner Aufgabe sowohl personell als auch logistisch kaum gewachsen. Es gab keine Gerichtssäle und kaum technische Ausstattung. Dennoch ist die erste öffentliche Anklage bereits im November 1995 erhoben worden. Die schwierigen Arbeitsbedingungen, denen sich die Richter des Tribunals bei dessen Gründung gegenübersahen, haben sich inzwischen verbessert. Es gibt nun drei Gerichtssäle in Arusha und insgesamt über 900 Mitarbeiter sind für das Tribunal tätig. Momentan sind die Prozesse von 60 Personen entweder abgeschlossen oder dauern noch fort (Stand: 15.Mai 2007). Unter den verurteilten Personen befindet sich auch Jean Kambandas, ehemaligen Premierministers von Ruanda. Zur Zeit warten 8 Angeklagte noch auf den Prozessbeginn. Das Tribunal plant bis Ende des Jahres 2008 die Prozesse von insgesamt 65-70 Personen abgeschlossen zu haben.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Programm Artikel zum Menschenrechtspreis 2003 im FES info Broschüre zum Menschenrechtspreis 2003 Links zu Publikationen Rwanda: The Preventable Genocide Bericht des Ausschusses zur Untersuchung des Völkermords in Ruanda und des Scheiterns einer Intervention, eingesetzt durch die ehemalige Organisation für Afrikanische Einheit (heute: Afrikanische Union) Reconciliation in Post-genocide Rwanda Von Eugenia Zorbas, in: African Journal of Legal Studies. Jahrgang 1, Nr. 1 (2004) Explaining the 1994 genocide in Rwanda Von Helen M. Hintjens, in: Journal of Modern African Studies. Jahrgang 37, Nr. 2 (1999), S. 241-286 Subsahara-Afrika: Die Wiederentdeckung eines Kontinents Ulrich Golaszinski - Berlin: FES, Referat Entwicklungspolitik, 2007 Links Website des Internationalen Tribunals für Ruanda Website des Instituts für Diaspora- und Genozidforschung der Ruhr Uni-Bochum Website des ‚Genocide Studies Program’ an der Yale University Website des Referats Afrika der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung