Head
Serbian Resistance OTPOR
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 2001

Human Rights Award 2001

Serbian Resistance Movement OTPOR

Political context

What is OTPOR? Founded in autumn 1998, OTPOR is a student protest movement that formed as a result of the repressions of the Milosevic dictatorship against critical professors and students in Belgrade. The protest lasted for three months and the clenched fist became the symbol of the movement for the democratically orientated youth of Serbia. During the mass demonstrations against the Milosevic regime in 1999, OTPOR managed to spread the resistance to the majority of the population and even organised demonstrations in the Serbian provinces. More and more citizens of all ages and professions became members of OTPOR: The initiative grew from a student to a grass roots movement and had more than 60,000 members in 2000.

Some impressions of the award

The Awardee

By presenting the human rights award 2001 on October 4th, the student protest movement OTPOR was honoured for its commitment to human rights and to peace in Serbia and for contributing to the fall of Slobodan Milosevic regardless of the dangers to their members. They stand for a democratic Serbia and have contributed to the reconciliation of a split opposition. Their strategy of non-violence toppled a dictator without shedding any blood.

Further Information
Publications Brochure on the Human Rights Award 2001 (German) Links to Publications Beiträge zur Konfliktregion (ehemaliges) Jugoslawien (German) AG Friedensforschung an der Universität Kassel (German) Report of an Expert Commission Assessment of human rights relations in former Yugoslavia (1994) The Balkans: On War, Peace and Europe. By Britta Joerissen, Berlin: Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, January 2007 Links Website of the „International Criminal Court for the Former Yugoslavia“ Website of the International Crisis Group – Serbia Website about the FES work in the region South East Europe (German) Website of the FES in Serbia (German)

Teaserbild
Serbische Widerstandsbewegung OTPOR
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 2001

Menschenrechtspreis 2001

Serbische Widerstandsbewegung OTPOR

Zum politischen Kontext

Was ist OTPOR? OTPOR wurde im Herbst 1998 als studentische Protestbewegung in Folge der Repressionen des diktatorischen Milosevic-Regimes gegen kritische Professoren und Studenten in Belgrad gegründet. Nach den dreimonatigen Protesten wurde die geballte Faust als Symbol der Bewegung zum Identifikationszeichen der demokratisch orientierten Jugendlichen in Serbien. Während der Massendemonstrationen gegen die Milosevic-Herrschaft 1999 gelang es OTPOR, den Widerstand von unten auf weite Teile der Bevölkerung auszuweiten und Demonstrationen auch in der serbischen Provinz zu organisieren. Immer mehr Bürger aller Alters- und Berufsgruppen schlossen sich OTPOR an: die Initiative wuchs von einer Studenten- zu einer Volksbewegung, ihre Mitglieder wurden im Jahr 2000 landesweit auf über 60.000 geschätzt.

Preisverleihung 2001 Einige Eindrücke der Verleihung in Bildern

Der Preisträger

Mit dem Menschenrechtspreis 2001 wurde am 4.Oktober die studentische Protestbewegung OTPOR geehrt, die sich für Menschenrechte und Frieden in Serbien eingesetzt und maßgeblich zum Sturz von Slobodan Milosevic beigetragen hat ohne Rücksicht auf die persönliche Gefährdungen ihrer Anhänger. Sie stehen für ein demokratisches Serbien und haben zur Einigung einer vielfach gespaltenen Opposition beigetragen. Ihre Strategie der Gewaltlosigkeit hat es ermöglicht, dass ein Diktator ohne Blutvergießen gestürzt werden konnte.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Broschüre zum Menschenrechtspreis 2001 Links zu Publikationen Beiträge zur Konfliktregion (ehemaliges) Jugoslawien AG Friedensforschung an der Universität Kassel Bericht einer Expertenkommission Einschätzung der Menschenrechtsverletzungen auf dem Gebiet des ehemaligen Yugoslawiens (1994) Der Balkan – von Krieg, Frieden und Europa Von Britta Joerissen, Berlin: Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung, Januar 2007 Links Website des „International Criminal Court for the Former Yugoslavia“ Website der International Crisis Group – Land Serbien Website der FES in der Region Südosteuropa Website der FES in Serbien