Head
Olusegun Obasanjo
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 1996

Human Rights Award 1996

Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria

Political context

Nigeria, like many other African states, is a construct of European colonial policy. Economic interests and the quest for expanding the political sphere of influence led the Great Powers, such as France or Great Britain, to split the Continent of Africa between each other. In 1861, Great Britain started to consolidate several states and thereby several ethnicities into one colony on today's territory of Nigeria. After the declaration of Independence in 1960, a fight for political power and influence emerged among the different ethnic groups and tribes. Besides several military dictatorships (the military dictatorship under Sani Abacha 1995-1998 was one of the worst), democratic powers tried many times to find a peaceful way to reconciliate the different ethnic groups and tribes in the country. Even today, there are many internal civil commotions in Nigeria.

Olusegun Obasanjo at the UN, N.Y.

The Awardee

On May 6th, 1996 the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung honoured Olusegun Obasanjo for his engagement in the democratisation process in Nigeria and the reconciliation of the ethnic groups and tribes, who fought against each other during the several military dictatorships and civil wars. In his position as president of state from 1976 to 1979, he vehemently defended the democratisation of the country and delegated his power to a freely elected government in 1979. He condemned the several military dictatorships in the 80s and 90s, who he hold liable for the difficult situation of the country. Furthermore, he actively supported the work of international organisations engaging in democracy, human rights and peace promotion. Olusegun Obasanjo was re-elected as state president in 1999. After his pro-longed presidential term in 2003, he didn't want to run again for election in 2007 and supported the current president Umaru Yar’Adua in his election campaign.

The human rights award was handed over to Obasanjo’s wife Stella, because Olusegun was sentenced to 15 years in prison in 1995 under the Abacha military dictatorship. The prison sentence was abandoned in 1998, because the military dictatorship ended with the death of Abacha.

Further Information
Publications Speeches on the Human Rights Award 1996 Links Website of the FES Department for Africa (German) Website of the FES Office Nigeria

Origin of photo material
© United Nations photographs
Cover picture: UN Photo / Eskinder Debebe
Further photo material: UN Photo / Mark Garten
www.un.org/av/photo

Teaserbild
Olusegun Obasanjo
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 1996

Menschenrechtspreis 1996

Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria

Zum politischen Kontext

Nigeria ist wie viele andere afrikanische Staaten ein Konstrukt der europäischen Kolonialpolitik. Wirtschaftliche Interessen und das Streben nach Expansion des politischen Einflussgebiets bewegten europäische Großmächte, wie Frankreich oder Großbritannien, dazu, den Kontinent Afrika unter sich aufzuteilen. 1861 begann Großbritannien damit, auf dem heutigen Territorium von Nigeria mehrere Staaten und damit auch verschiedene Ethnien zu einer Kolonie zusammenzuschließen. Nach der Erklärung der Unabhängigkeit Nigerias im Jahr 1960 brach unter den unterschiedlichen Volks- und Stammesgruppen ein Kampf um politische Macht und Einfluss aus. Neben zahlreichen Militärdiktaturen (die Militärdiktatur unter Sani Abacha 1995-1998 zählt hierbei zu den schlimmsten) versuchten auch mehrmals demokratische Kräfte einen friedlichen Weg zu finden, die unterschiedlichsten Volks- und Stammesgruppen im Land zu versöhnen und miteinander zu leben. Bis heute gibt es starke innenpolitische Unruhen in Nigeria.

Preisverleihung 1996 Olusegun Obasanjo bei den Vereinten Nationen, N.Y.

Der Preisträger

Die Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung ehrte am 6.Mai 1996 Olusegun Obasanjo für seinen Einsatz, den Demokratisierungsprozess in Nigeria voranzutreiben und die Volks- und Stammesgruppen zu versöhnen, die sich während der zahlreichen Militärdiktaturen und Bürgerkriegen bekämpft haben. Als Staatspräsident von 1976 bis 1979 setzte er sich vehement für die Demokratisierung des Landes ein und gab seine Macht an eine frei gewählte Regierung im Jahr 1979 ab. Die zahlreichen Militärdiktaturen, die in den 80er und 90er Jahren folgen sollten, verurteilte er aufs schärfste und machte diese für die missliche Lage des Landes verantwortlich. Darüber hinaus unterstützte er aktiv die Arbeit von internationalen Organisationen in den Bereichen Demokratie, Menschenrechte und Friedensförderung. Olusegun Obasanjo wurde 1999 als Staatspräsident wiedergewählt. Nach einer verlängerten Amtszeit im Jahr 2003 wollte er 2007 nicht noch einmal für das Amt kandidieren und unterstützte den jetzigen Präsident Umaru Yar’Adua bei seinem Wahlkampf.

Der Menschenrechtspreis wurde von Obasanjo’s Frau Stella in Berlin entgegengenommen, da Olusegun unter der Abacha-Militärdiktatur im Jahr 1995 zu einer Gefängnisstrafe von 15 Jahren verurteilt wurde. Die Gefängnisstrafe wurde 1998 aufgehoben, da die Militärdiktatur mit dem Versterben von Abacha endete.

Weitere Informationen
Publikationen Reden zum Menschenrechtspreis 1996 Links Website des Referats Afrika der FES Website des Landesbüros Nigeria der FES

Bildquelle
© United Nations photographs
Titelbild: UN Photo / Eskinder Debebe
Weiteres Photomaterial: UN Photo / Mark Garten
www.un.org/av/photo