Head
Professor Ewa Letowska
You are here: FESWelcome › Human Rights Award 1995

Human Rights Award 1995

Professor Ewa Letowska, Polen

Political context

During the post-communist era, the new democratic governments were facing big challenges. The principles of democracy, a constitutional state and an economic transformation had to be established, but it was also important to raise the public awareness about human rights and freedom.

Some impressions of the award

The Awardee

Law professor Ewa Letowska, Polish „Commissioner of Civil Rights”, received the Human Rights Award of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung on May 19th, 1995. Mrs. Letowska was the first Commissioner for civil rights in Poland and held this office from 1987 to 1992. Due to her fundamental work, her political independence and her public activities to raise awareness about constitutional and civil rights, she gained great popularity, which led to the identification of her person with her function. Ewa Letowska, as „Commissioner for Civil Rights“ of the Polish parliament, played an important role during the transition into a pluralistic democracy and due to her commitment to a constitutional state and individual human rights, she gained a lot of respect among the Polish public. As a lawyer, she engages in the enforcement of human rights in many ways on a national as well as on an international level.

Today, Mrs. Ewa Letowska is a judge at the Polish Constitutional Court. The Polish Sejm (comparable with the British House of Commons, constitutes the parliament together with the Senate) appointed her as judge in 2002.

Further Information
Links to Publications A Constitution of Possibilities Ewa Letowska, in: East European Constitutional Review, Bd.6, Nr.2 (Spring/Summer, 1997), S. 76-81, 76 Links Website about the FES work in the region East-Middle Europe (German) Website of the FES Office Poland (German / Polish)

Teaserbild
Professor Ewa Letowska
Sie sind hier: FESStartseite › Menschenrechtspreis 1995

Menschenrechtspreis 1995

Professor Ewa Letowska, Polen

Zum politischen Kontext

In der Phase des Postkommunismus sahen sich alle neuen demokratischen Regierungen vor großen Herausforderungen. Prinzipien der Demokratie, des Rechtsstaates und eine ökonomische Transformation sollten etabliert werden, allerdings war es ebenso wichtig das Bewußtsein aller Menschen für die Menschenrechte und neu gewonnenen Freiheiten zu schärfen.

Preisverleihung 1995 Einige Eindrücke der Verleihung in Bildern

Die Preisträgerin

Die Juraprofessorin Ewa Letowska, polnische „Beauftragte für Bürgerrechte”, erhielt den Menschenrechtspreis der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung am 19.Mai 1995.

Frau Letowska wurde als erste Bürgerrechtsbeauftragte Polens benannt und war von 1987 bis 1992 im Amt. Durch ihre grundlegende Arbeit, ihre politische Unabhängigkeit und ihr öffentliches Wirken zur Weckung eines Grundrechts- und Bürgerrechtsverständnisses erhielt sie eine hohe Popularität, die zu einer Gleichsetzung ihrer Person mit dem Amt führte. Ewa Letowska hat als „Beauftragte für Bürgerrechte“ des polnischen Parlaments in der wichtigen Phase des Übergangs zu pluraler Demokratie und durch ihr Eintreten für Rechtsstaat und individuelle Menschenrechte eine bedeutende Funktion ausgeübt, die ihr einen hohen Respekt in der polnischen Öffentlichkeit vermittelt hat. Als Juristin ist sie in vielfältiger Weise für die Durchsetzung der Menschenrechte auf nationaler wie internationaler Ebene engagiert.

Frau Ewa Letowska ist heute Richterin am polnischen Verfassungsgericht. Der Sejm in Polen (vergleichbar mit dem britischen Unterhaus, bildet mit dem Senat das Parlament) wählte sie im Jahr 2002 als Richterin.

Weitere Informationen
Links zu Publikationen A Constitution of Possibilities Ewa Łętowska, in: East European Constitutional Review, Bd.6, Nr.2 (Spring/Summer, 1997), S. 76-81, 76 Links Website des Referats Ostmitteleuropa der FES Website des FES Landesbüros Polen