2012 Nenad Šebek, Executive Director of CDRSEE, after receiving the FES Human Rights Award 2013. Photo: Torben Geek, 28.10.2013
2012 Safdar Dawar of the
Tribal Union of Journalists; Berlin, 31.10.2012; Photo: Jens Schicke
2011 Slim Amamou, Tunesien und Khaled Said (1982-2010), Ägypten
2010 Marcelina Bautista Bautista
2009 Treatment Action Campaign
2008 Zhanna Litvina
2007 Dr. Jevgenij Zhovtis
2006 Somsak Kosaisook
2005 Wahrheitskommissionen von Chile und Peru
2004 Abel Alier und Mahgoub Mohamed Salih
2003 Internationale Tribunal für Ruanda
2002 Israelisch-palästinensische Koalition für den Frieden
2001 Serbische Widerstandsbewegung OTPOR
2000 Verband der Komitees der Soldatenmütter Russlands
1999 Kailash Satyarthi, Indien
1998 Omar Belhouchet, Algerien
1997 Pater Petar Andelovic, Bosnien-Herzegowina
1996 Pater Petar Andelovic, Bosnien-Herzegowina
1995 Professor Ewa Letowska
1994 Marie-Schlei-Verein, Deutschland
You are here: FESWelcome › About previous awardees

About previous awardees


Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast Europe (CDRSEE), Greece
The Human Rights Award 2013 of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung pays tribute to the particular merits of the Center for Democracy and Reconciliation in Southeast Europe (CDRSEE). » Read more

Tribal Union of Journalists (TUJ), Pakistan
In bestowing its Human Rights Award on the Tribal Union of Journalists (TUJ) the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung is honouring their commitment to media freedom and freedom of expression in the Afghan-Pakistani border region... » Read more

Slim Amamou, Tunesien and Khaled Said (1982-2010), Egypt
In bestowing its Human Rights Award on Slim Amamou and Khaled Said the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung is honouring their commitment and their courage, to claim basic human rights in their countries... » Read more

Marcelina Bautista Bautista, Mexico
In bestowing its Human Rights Award on Mexican Marcelina Bautista the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung is honouring her commitment to the struggle against the unfair working conditions under which domestic workers... » Read more

Treatment Action Campaign (TAC), South Africa
The Human Rights Award of the Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung to the Treatment Action Campaign (TAC) recognises the merits of an organisation which has made a special commitment to the defence of.... » Read more

Zhanna Litvina, Belarusian
By awarding the Human Rights Award to Zhanna Litvina, the Friedrich-Ebert Foundation honours a journalist ... » Read more

Dr. Jevgenij Zhovtis, Kazakhstan
The lawyer Jevgenij Zhovtis has been awarded for standing up for human rights and democratic values in Kazakhstan and Central Asia. » Read more

Somsak Kosaisook, Thailand
Unionist Somsak Kosaisook received the Human Rights Award for his long-term work in the trade union of Thailand. » Read more

Truth Commissions of Chile and Peru
The Truth Commissions received the Award for supporting the process of reconciliation with a past burdened by severe human rights violations. » Read more

Abel Alier and Mahgoub Mohamed Salih, Sudan
Journalist Abel Alier and human rights activist Mahgoub Mohamed Salih have been awarded for standing up for peace and human rights in Sudan. » Read more

International Tribunal for Rwanda
The Tribunal of Rwanda has been acknowledged for shedding light upon genocide and administering justice. » Read more

Israeli-Palestinian Coalition for Peace
The Coalition has been awarded for supporting the peace process as an alternative to terror and violence. » Read more

Serbian Resistance Movement OTPOR
The student protest movement has been honoured for spreading resistance to Milosevic among the majority of the population. » Read more

Union of the Committee of Soldiers' Mothers of Russia
The non-governmental organisation has been awarded for their work to human rights in the military sector. » Read more

Kailash Satyarthi, India
Kailash Satyarthi has been honoured for his work opposing social injustice and slavery. » Read more

Omar Belhouchet, Algeria
The Journalist received the Human Rights Award for his work to support a free and independent media which supports democracy and human rights. » Read more

Father Petar Andjelovic, Bosnia-Herzegovina
Father Petar Andjelovic has been awarded for his long-term work for understanding between nations and religions in his region and for supporting interreligious dialogues and human dignity. » Read more

Olusegun Obasanjo, Nigeria
Olusegan Obasanjo has been awarded for his tireless work for democracy and reconciliation in his country. » Read more

Professor Ewa Letowska, Poland
Professor Letowska, former commissioner of human rights in Poland has been awarded for her long-term work. » Read more

Marie-Schlei-Verein e.V., Germany
The Marie-Schlei-Verein e.V. as the first Awardee of the human rights award supports women in the Third World. » Read more