FES / Karl-Marx-Museum Trier / History
Picture of Karl Marx in 1875

Picture of Karl Marx
in 1875

View to the inner courtyard

View to the inner courtyard

History of the Karl-Marx-Haus

The baroque house in which Karl Marx was born, was built around 1727. It was rented by his father, Heinrich Marx, in April 1818 to accommodate his family and serve as an office for his law practice.

Marx's birthplace, No. 10 in what today is the Brückenstraße, was rebuilt and extended under a series of different owners. It was not recognized for a long time as the birthplace of Karl Marx. In 1904 it was "rediscovered" - by an announcement in the "Trierische Zeitung" of 5 April 1818 in which Heinrich Marx announced his move to what was then Brückergasse No. 664.

Attempts of the SPD to acquire the house dragged out over many years. On 26 April 1928, the Social Democratic newspaper "Volkswacht" proudly announced that the SPD had purchased the property. It was intended that, after completion of the necessary restoration work, the house in the Brückenstraße would be a monument to the life and work of Karl Marx and to the history of the labour movement. The Social Democratic, Jewish architect Gustav Kasel, who would emigrate to Palestine at the time of the Nazi tyranny, created a free reconstruction of the baroque dwelling on the basis of extensive preliminary studies.

This is the form in which the house may be visited today, with its rear and front parts connected by a porchway, and the garden remodelled by Kasel along the French lines.

The seizure of power by the Nazis prevented the museum from opening. In May 1933 the Nazis then seized the house they detested so much. Until the end of the Nazi period, it housed the Nazi Trierer Nationalblatt, and was the residence of the Nazi district leader. Everything which had been collected in the period before 1933 for the planned museum was either destroyed by the Nazis or later scattered to the winds.

Immediately after the German capitulation, Social Democrats in Trier attempted to repossess it. With help from an international solidarity committee it was returned to the SPD, who opened it as a monument to Karl Marx in 1947. In 1968, the SPD entrusted the house to the care of the Friedrich-Ebert-Foundation. In the same year, on the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of Karl-Marx's birth, Willy Brandt, the then SPD Party Chairman and Foreign Minister of the Federal Republic, opened an exhibition on his life and work. In 1983, on the hundredth anniversary of Karl Marx's death, the radically refurbished Karl Marx Museum with its extended exhibition space was reopened. The present exhibition, completely new in conception, has been on view since 2005.

FES / Karl-Marx-Haus Trier / Geschichte
Portraitfoto Karl Marx 1875

Portraitfoto von Karl Marx
aus dem Jahre 1875

Blick in den Innenhof

Blick in den Innenhof

Die Geschichte des Karl-Marx-Hauses

Das Geburtshaus von Karl Marx wurde um 1727 als barockes Wohnhaus errichtet. Dem Vater Heinrich Marx diente das im April 1818 gemietete Haus als Büro für seine Anwaltstätigkeit, seiner Familie als Wohnhaus.

Das Haus in der heutigen Brückenstraße 10 erlebte mehrere Besitzerwechsel, Um- und Anbauten. Als Geburtshaus von Karl Marx geriet es in Vergessenheit. Erst 1904 gelang die "Wiederentdeckung": In der "Trierischen Zeitung" vom 5. April 1818 fand man die Anzeige von Heinrich Marx, worin dieser seinen Umzug in die damalige Brückergasse 664 mitgeteilt hatte.

Die Bemühungen der SPD, das Haus zu erwerben, zogen sich über Jahre hin. Mit Stolz berichtete die sozialdemokratische Zeitung "Volkswacht" am 26. April 1928 über den Ankauf des Hauses durch die SPD. Es sollte eine Erinnerungsstätte an Leben und Werk von Karl Marx und an die Geschichte der Arbeiterbewegung werden. Auf der Basis umfangreicher Vorstudien schuf der sozialdemokratische jüdische Architekt Gustav Kasel, der in der Zeit der nationalsozialistischen Gewaltherrschaft nach Palästina emigrierte, eine freie Rekonstruktion des einstmals barocken Wohnhauses.

In dieser Form von Vorderhaus und Hinterhaus mit verbindenden Laubengängen ist es zusammen mit dem von Kasel im französischen Stil neugestalteten Garten heute zu besichtigen.

Zur Eröffnung als Erinnerungsstätte kam es vor der nationalsozialistischen Machtergreifung nicht mehr. Im Mai 1933 beschlagnahmten die Nazis das ihnen verhasste Haus. Es wurde bis zum Ende der Nazizeit Verlagssitz des nationalsozialistischen "Trierer Nationalblattes" und Wohnsitz des Nazi-Kreisleiters. Alles, was in der Zeit vor 1933 für das geplante Museum gesammelt worden war, wurde von den Nazis vernichtet oder später in alle Winde verstreut.

Mit Hilfe eines internationalen Solidaritätskomitees wurde das Haus nach Kriegsende an die Sozialdemokratie zurückgegeben, die es 1947 als Erinnerungsstätte an Karl Marx eröffnete. 1968 vertraute die SPD das Haus der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung an. Im selben Jahr, zum 150. Geburtstag von Karl Marx, eröffnete Willy Brandt, damals Parteivorsitzender der SPD und Außenminister der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, dort eine Ausstellung zu dessen Leben und Werk. Am 100. Todestag von Karl Marx 1983 wurde das umfassend neu gestaltete Karl-Marx-Haus mit erweiterter Ausstellungsfläche wiedereröffnet. Die gegenwärtige, völlig neu konzipierte Ausstellung ist seit 2005 zu sehen.