Logo der FES: Link zur FES-HauptseiteCompass 2020 - Germany in inernational relations - Aims, instruments, prospects. Link to the site introduction

Die Themen im Ueberblick

Multilateral institutions
Building new alliances, solving global problems

Jürgen Stetten

February 2007

pdf download

The global tasks that can be solved only collectively by nations are increasing in number, while the level of willingness to tackle these issues within a multilateral framework is, however, decreasing. The economic and political rise of China and India, in particular, is creating additional pressure to adapt to such 'rising powers‘ who are challenging the political arithmetic of 'transatlantic multilateralism' and the increased propensity of the 'North' towards protectionism is creating further blocs. Will there be reinvigoration of global policy or progressive erosion of the multilateral system? In fact, both scenarios are conceivable. Germany, as a highly regarded player in multilateral institutions, has built up a lot of political capital with its constructive, mediatory approach. The formation of new alliances and the establishment of new international fora are central to increasing the problem-solving capacity of the community of states – Germany should take an active role in this.

Crises and Wars in Times of Globalization
How German Crisis Prevention and Peace Building could help

Michèle Auga

March 2007

pdf download

Wars between nations have been replaced by new forms of violent conflict, which cannot be kept in check using the usual procedures of international law. These 'new wars' are leading to a privatisation of force, transnational crime and terrorism – dangers whose likelihood increases the more national self-determination of controls are eroded, leading to a failed state situation.
This article makes recommendations for a far-sighted German peace policy using a backdrop of plausible future scenarios. The issues such a policy should address include developing a national security strategy, revising current funding models and, not least, developing a European coordination strategy.

Farewell to disarmament?
Point of orientation in Germany's arms control policy

Hans J. Gießmann

January 2007

pdf download

Barely two decades after the end of the East-West conflict, no new strategic approach has been found in terms of global or European disarmament policy beyond the former military blocs and alliances. Disarmament seems to have been forgotten as a political control tool to counter instability and conflict. Are the notions of agreed disarmament and arms control now but relics of the era of large-scale wars between nations and have they now become irrelevant to the asymmetrical armed conflicts of the present? In addition to the risks and dangers that can arise from underestimating the importance of international cooperation on disarmament, this article also focuses on the options available in trying to establish a forward-looking and preventative German disarmament policy.

European Integration
Prospects for the future as a security and welfare union

Christos Katsioulis & Gero Maaß

March 2007

pdf download

The European Union as a unique constellation of supranational and intergovernmental norms is currently facing huge challenges: The expansion to encompass 27 states has been completed, yet the institutional architecture is trailing far behind what is required. After the rejection of the EU constitution by France and the Netherlands, reform of the union has been placed on hold for the time being. On top of this, a deep gulf between the individual states and the EU is becoming apparent. This article sets out possible scenarios for the future development of the European Union against the backdrop of these challenges and identifies possible plans of action for Germany‘s European policy.

Global Health
A policy field of underestimated importance

Wolfgang Hein

February 2007

pdf download

The increasing significance of large-scale health problems for the stability and security of entire regions, the spread of infectious diseases and the close correlation between poverty and disease all point to the fact that health has become a key global challenge. In addition to this, the area of global health policy with its numerous actors and crosslinks to other policy fields reflects virtually perfectly the complex nature of global governance. An innovative approach in global health governance could also provide stimuli in other policy fields. In addition to controlling disease, a top priority here must also be to focus on across-the-board improvements in health standards in poor countries.

Prevention and Suppression of Organised Crime
Future Action Perspectives from a German and a European Angle

Richard Mörbel & Sönke Schmidt

March 2007

pdf download

Globalisation, technological advances and increased trade have contributed greatly to internationalising organised criminal activity that cuts across cultural, legal and economic barriers. The actual extent of the threat of organised crime is, however, hard to quantify. Criminal organisations see Europe as a uniform territory for operations – there is therefore a need for a European strategy for combating this, and national policies should also be integrated into such a strategy. The EU should lead the way in this, due to its special expertise in the field of intergovernmental cooperation in security as well as in its own interests.

Controlling the Risks of a Global Economy
Germany's Role

Michael Dauderstädt & Christian Kellermann

March 2007

pdf download

As the world‘s leading exporter, Germany benefits from open, global markets; at the same time, however, this liberalisation weakens national-level controls if these are not adopted at European Union level in the course of the integration process. The key risks for the global economy in the next decade are primarily those of an unregulated drop in the value of the US dollar and a global weakness in demand. Both in Europe and worldwide, there is a lack of mass purchasing power due to wages lagging behind productivity and growth and to the propensity to save fuelled by the risks of deregulated markets. In all, there is an impending threat of the decoupling of productivity and output.
As a substantial voice in the EU and the global economy, Germany could be a driving force in securing better regulation of the global markets and thereby be instrumental in reducing the loss of impact of national economic policy.

Too many or too few?
Demographic growth and international migration

Ernst Hillebrand

April 2007

pdf download

Population growth will remain a decisive factor in terms of international relations and the global economy in the coming years. The global population is set to grow by 17% by 2020, with by far the largest proportion of this growth taking place in the 'third' world. In addition to urbanisation, levels of international migration will continue to rise. By 2050, some 100 million people will migrate from the 'third' to the 'first' world. After the US, Germany will be the second-largest recipient country in terms of net legal immigration, primarily from Eastern Europe and Turkey. Countries with a low birth rate will have to be aggressive in wooing qualified immigrants in order to close the skills gaps in the labour markets. Whether the EU succeeds in creating a common policy of controlled immigration – and in then also integrating the immigrants – is decisive for the future.

On a new mission
The foreign missions of the Bundeswehr and German security policy

Stefanie Flechtner

May 2007

pdf download

What was unthinkable for Germany up to the beginning of the 1990s is now a 'normal' part of everyday foreign policy reality: soldiers from the German Armed Forces have been sent at times of crisis and conflict beyond NATO borders, to the Balkans, to Afghanistan, to the Near East and to Africa. At the same time, the understanding of security has changed in Europe. With the concept of a comprehensive security policy including a broad spectrum of civilian instruments in addition to the military and with this concept being applied multilaterally and preventatively, Germany is trying to do justice to these new challenges. This includes further development of its security policy instruments just as it does any threats posed by weapons of mass destruction and the possible erosion of the domestic policy foundations of German security policy.

Human Rights and International Social Policy
Constraining the Anarchy of Power

Erfried Adam

April 2007

pdf download

In the course of globalisation, disparities in social welfare have continued to grow in recent years both within individual nations and between different regions of the world, while global competition for jobs has also become more acute. Against this backdrop, human rights and social welfare standards are coming under ever more pressure and the fight for social welfare rights is shifting to international level. In the next ten years, over a billion young people will join the ranks of the working-age population – the majority of these in the developing countries, the very regions least able to cope economically, socially or politically with this increase.
In addition to strengthening the existing system of human rights and international social welfare policy, an area of particular importance in the coming years will be that of achieving improved coordination between not only the international organisations but also the policies in the member states themselves. Other areas of particular importance will be those of integrating the core labour standards into the trade agreements and drafting and enforcing human rights standards for economic operations.

Democracy en Ascendant?
Opportunities and limitations of strategies to promote democracy

Marika Lerch

June 2007

pdf download

During this time at the beginning of the 21st century, the world is freer and more democratic than ever before. Nevertheless, this tendency towards the emergence of a democratic world is full of contradictions. Most nations that have introduced reforms in the last 30 years are still far from achieving the status of a consolidated democracy, while flawed democracies and semi-authoritarian regimes are exhibiting extremely unfavourable conditions for any successful transformation. At the same time, the balance of power is shifting in favour of the old democracies and authoritarian regimes are using the room to manoeuvre afforded by this to block, both legally and diplomatically, international endeavours to achieve democracy. The requirements for succeeding at promoting democracy have become even more difficult to meet – Germany, however, should remain resolute in this in its own interests in the long term in bringing about a democratically governed world.

Energy Security
New Shortages, the Revival of Resource Nationalism and the Outlook
for Multilateral Approaches

Dietmar Dirmoser

August 2007

pdf download

The price hikes of recent years made it clear that a scarcity of oil and gas and resulting supply bottlenecks and interruptions in delivery are becoming easier to envisage. A race for access to energy resources began that could easily escalate into a new Cold War for energy or into a Hot Resource War, since most countries in the world are reliant on imported energy. The governments can choose between a resource nationalism strategy with a bilateral energy procurement and the application of pressure on the one hand, and a multilateral approach aimed at making the international energy system equally advantageous for all involved on the other hand. This article discusses the challenges of a sustainable German energy security policy and presents options for action in this difficult political field between conflict regions, state-controlled power companies and growing competition between the consumer countries.

Religion and politics
A revived area of conflict

Thomas Meyer

April 2007

pdf download

The religions have made their way back into politics. In addition to individual worship within the context of respected constitutional democracy, there is a revival in all cultural groups of fundamentalist claims to power within politicised religion, which is in some places taking hold of state power. A policy of recognition looks promising for keeping in check the temptations represented by fundamentalism. This policy combines the open acknowledgement of the equal value of every religious identity with commitment to fair access for all to the social and economic resources of global society.

The European Union and the Post-Communist Sphere
Integration, European Neighbourhood-Policy and Strategic Partnership

Michael Ehrke

May 2007

pdf download

With the eastward expansion of the EU, the former Eastern Bloc, once perceived as a homogeneous whole, has been divided into two parts: the central European member states and the non-member states in Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. While further transformation and integration is expected for the new member states, the EU's relationship with the non-members is coloured by uncertainty about the further development of these societies and the effects of this on the EU. The future of the EU's relations with the Eastern nations will depend on whether and to what extent the 'virtuous circle' being aimed at in Central Europe can be maintained and on whether the successful transformation process has a positive impact radiating out to the other countries. The EU should ensure that it does not allow its most effective political weapon, the offer of membership, to be snatched out of its hands and should direct step-by-step integration policies and neighbourhood policies towards this area.

Transatlantic Relations
Together the West is Exploring New Shores

Almut Wieland-Karimi

June 2007

pdf download

In the transatlantic relations, mutual distrust is growing. The Iraq war has deepened the rift between the U.S. and Europe but the cracks in the West have already been apparent for some time. Less and less the governments on both sides of the Atlantic were able to develop common positions with regard to important international political issues. While the transatlantic economy - the most stable and strongest interconnected area of cooperation - was hardly affected by the controversy, it becomes apparent where the conflicts in the security partnership are concerned that the transatlantic relations need a new basis. A reversion to the familiar roles seems not to be possible; but without a constructive cooperation with the U.S. most of the foreign policy aims of Germany can only be fulfilled with difficulties or not at all. Through pragmatic and goal-oriented projects, e.g. in the range of climate politics, energy security or world trade, the groundwork of political relations could be re-established.

International climate policy 2020
A challenge for German (environmental) foreign policy

Hermann E. Ott

July 2007

pdf herunterladen

Climate change is rapidly becoming a key issue of German foreign policy and international co-operation. The very long-term effects involved and their often unjust distribution across the world make climate change a real challenge for the whole human race. The resulting challenges are of an intellectual, conceptual and organizational nature, since the whole problem of climate has a highly complex structure. The effects of human activity only make themselves felt after a lapse of decades or even centuries. In addition, these effects are often not felt by those who cause them. Furthermore, the causes of climate change are numbered in millions and spread all over the globe. The article develops three possible scenarios for the consequences of the current and prospective climate policy. Taking these scenarios into account, it offers recommendations for a credible national climate policy of Germany.

Terrorism in the 21st century
The rule of law as a guideline for german policy

Peter R. Neumann

February 2009

pdf herunterladen

Since 2001, global terrorism has become one of the biggest domestic and international challenges for Germany. In the present paper, Peter R. Neumann outlines key influences that have marked the transformation of terrorism over the last three decades. The paper highlights the threat from Salafi jihadist terrorism, and how it has evolved since the September 11 attacks in 2001 and the subsequent ‘War on Terror’. The paper shows how German policymakers have responded to these challenges. Internationally, Germany has been keen to emphasise a more multilateralist approach, opposing the Iraq war and stressing the need to address the root causes of terrorism rather than merely its violent manifestations. Berlin participates actively in all international forums and plays a positive role in pushing for a more integrated framework based on fighting terrorism through the rule of law.

Contact & Imprint

Logo der FES: Link zur FES-HauptseiteKompass 2020 - Deutschland in den internationalen Beziehungen - Ziele, Instrumente, Perspektiven. Link zur Introseite der Site

Die Themen im Ueberblick

Multilaterale Institutionen
Neue Allianzen bilden

Jürgen Stetten

Februar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die globalen Aufgaben, die von Staaten nur kollektiv gelöst werden können, nehmen zu, indes die Bereitschaft, diese im multilateralen Rahmen zu bearbeiten, abnimmt. Der wirtschaftliche und politische Aufstieg insbesondere Chinas und Indiens sorgt für zusätzlichen Anpassungsdruck, die rising powers stellen die politische Arithmetik des 'transatlantischen Multilateralismus' in Frage, und der verstärkte Hang des 'Nordens' zu Protektionismus schafft weitere Blockaden. Redynamisierung globaler Politik oder fortschreitende Erosion des multilateralen Systems – beide Szenarien sind denkbar. Deutschland als ein in den multilateralen Institutionen geschätzter Akteur hat mit seinem konstruktiv-vermittelnden Ansatz ein großes Maß an politischem Kapital aufgebaut. Zentral für die Verbesserung der Problemlösungskapazität der Staatengemeinschaft sind die Bildung neuer Allianzen und die Gründung neuer internationaler Foren – Deutschland sollte sich hieran aktiv beteiligen.

Krisen und Kriege in der entgrenzten Welt
Anforderungen an eine deutsche Friedenspolitik

Michèle Auga

März 2007

pdf herunterladen

An die Stelle zwischenstaatlicher Kriege sind neue Formen gewaltsamer Konflikte getreten, die mit herkömmlichen Verfahren des Völkerrechts nicht einzudämmen sind. Die sogenannten neuen Kriege führen zu einer Privatisierung von Gewalt, transnationaler Kriminalität und Terrorismus – Gefahren, deren Wahrscheinlichkeit zunimmt, je stärker die Erosion staatlicher Steuerungskapazität zunimmt.
Der Beitrag gibt vor dem Hintergrund plausibler Zukunftsszenarien Empfehlungen für eine weitblickende deutsche Friedenspolitik. Sie sollte sich u.a. der Entwicklung einer nationalen Sicherheitsstrategie, einer Überprüfung derzeitiger Finanzierungskonzepte und nicht zuletzt der Entwicklung einer europäischen Koordinierungsstrategie widmen.

Abrüstung, ade?
Orientierungspunkte deutscher Rüstungskontrollpolitik

Hans J. Gießmann

Januar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Knapp zwei Jahrzehnte nach dem Ende des Ost-West-Konflikts ist kein neuer strategischer Ansatz für eine globale und europäische Abrüstungspolitik jenseits früherer Blöcke und Militärbündnisse gefunden. Abrüstung scheint als politisches Steuerungsinstrument gegen Instabilität und Konflikte in Vergessenheit geraten zu sein. Sind vertragliche Abrüstung und Rüstungskontrolle nur noch Relikte aus der Ära zwischenstaatlicher Großkriege und für die bewaffneten asymmetrischen Konflikte der Gegenwart wertlos geworden? Der Beitrag thematisiert neben den Risiken und Gefährdungen, die durch eine mangelnde Wertschätzung für internationale Abrüstungszusammenarbeit entstehen können auch Optionen für eine zukunftsorientierte und präventive deutsche Abrüstungspolitik.

Europäische Integration
Zukunftsperspektiven als Sicherheits- und Wohlfahrtsunion

Christos Katsioulis & Gero Maaß

März 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Europäische Union als einzigartiges Gebilde aus supranationalen und intergouvernementalen Normen und Institutionen steht vor gewaltigen Herausforderungen: Die Erweiterung auf 27 Staaten ist vollzogen, doch die institutionelle Architektur hinkt dieser Entwicklung weit hinterher. Nach der Ablehnung des Verfassungsvertrages in Frankreich und den Niederlanden ist die Reform der Union vorerst auf Eis gelegt, zudem zeichnet sich eine tiefe Kluft zwischen den Gesellschaften und der EU ab.
Der Beitrag entwickelt vor dem Hintergrund dieser Herausforderungen mögliche Szenarien zur künftigen Entwicklung der Europäischen Union und zeigt Handlungsoptionen für die deutsche Europapolitik auf.

Global Health
Ein Politikfeld von unterschätzter Bedeutung

Wolfgang Hein

Februar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die zunehmende Bedeutung massiver Gesundheitsprobleme für die Stabilität und Sicherheit ganzer Regionen, sich ausbreitende Infektionskrankheiten und der enge Zusammenhang von Armut und Krankheit weisen darauf hin, dass Gesundheit zu einer zentralen globalen Herausforderung geworden ist. Zudem steht der Bereich der globalen Gesundheitspolitik mit seinen zahlreichen Akteuren und Querverbindungen zu anderen Politikfeldern geradezu exemplarisch für die Komplexität von Global Governance. Eine innovative Global Health Governance könnte auch einen Anstoß für andere Politikfelder geben. Neben der Kontrolle von Krankheiten muss dabei in erster Linie auch die umfassende Verbesserung der Gesundheitssituation in armen Ländern in den Blick gerückt werden.

Verhütung und Bekämpfung der organisierten Kriminalität
Handlungsperspektiven aus deutscher und europäischer Sicht

Richard Mörbel & Sönke Schmidt

April 2007

pdf herunterladen

Globalisierung, technologischer Fortschritt und weltweiter Handel haben erheblich zur Internationalisierung von Aktivitäten Organisierter Kriminalität über kulturelle, rechtliche und wirtschaftliche Schranken hinweg beigetragen. Das tatsächliche Ausmaß der Bedrohung durch die Organisierte Kriminalität ist jedoch nur schwer zu quantifizieren. Kriminelle Vereinigungen sehen Europa als einheitlichen Handlungsraum – es bedarf daher eines europäischen Bekämpfungsansatzes, in den auch die nationalen Politiken integriert sein sollten. Die EU sollte hier aufgrund ihrer besonderen Erfahrung im Bereich der zwischenstaatlichen Sicherheitskooperation und aus eigenem Interesse eine Vorreiterrolle übernehmen.

Die Risiken der Weltwirtschaft kontrollieren
Deutschlands Rolle

Michael Dauderstädt & Christian Kellermann

März 2007

pdf herunterladen

Als Exportweltmeister profitiert Deutschland von offenen, globalen Märkten; zugleich schwächt die Liberalisierung staatliche Kontrollmöglichkeiten – soweit sie nicht im Zuge des Integrationsprozesses auf die Europäische Union übertragen wurden. Die zentralen Risiken der Weltwirtschaft bestehen im kommenden Jahrzehnt vor allem in einem ungeordneten Wertverlust des US-Dollars und einer globalen Nachfrageschwäche. In Europa und weltweit fehlt es durch das Hinterherhinken der Löhne und die von den Risiken unterregulierter Märkte getriebene Sparneigung an Massenkaufkraft – es droht eine Entkopplung von Produktivität und Output.
Deutschland könnte als gewichtige Stimme in der EU und der Weltwirtschaft die bessere Regulierung der globalen Märkte vorantreiben und dadurch zu einer Entschärfung des Wirkungsverlustes nationaler Wirtschaftspolitik beitragen.

Zu viele oder zu wenige?
Demographische Entwicklung und internationale Migration

Ernst Hillebrand

April 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Bevölkerungsentwicklung wird auch in den kommenden Jahren ein entscheidender Faktor in den internationalen Beziehungen und in der globalen Ökonomie sein. Die Weltbevölkerung wird bis 2020 um 17% wachsen – der weit überwiegende Teil dieses Wachstums wird in der "Dritten Welt" stattfinden. Neben der Urbanisierung wird auch die internationale Migration weiter zunehmen. Bis 2050 werden etwa 100 Millionen Menschen von der "Dritten" in die "Erste Welt" migrieren. Deutschland wird nach den USA das zweitgrößte Netto-Empfängerland von legalen Migranten in erster Linie aus Osteuropa und der Türkei sein. Länder mit einer niedrigen Geburtenrate werden offensiv um qualifizierte Zuwanderer werben müssen, um die Lücken bei den Fachkräften auf den Arbeitsmärkten zu schließen. Ob es der EU gelingt, eine gemeinsame Politik der gesteuerten Immigration zu formulieren – und die Migranten dann auch zu integrieren –, ist eine der entscheidenden Zukunftsfragen.

In neuer Mission
Auslandseinsätze und die deutsche Sicherheitspolitik

Stefanie Flechtner

Mai 2007

pdf herunterladen

Was für die Bundesrepublik bis zu Beginn der 90er Jahre noch undenkbar war, ist heute Teil der außenpolitischen "Normalität" Deutschlands: Soldaten der Bundeswehr werden in Krisen und Konflikte jenseits des NATO-Gebietes entsandt, auf den Balkan, nach Afghanistan, in den Nahen Osten und nach Afrika. Gleichzeitig hat sich das Verständnis von Sicherheit in Europa gewandelt. Mit dem Konzept einer umfassenden Sicherheitspolitik, die neben dem Militär auch ein breites Spektrum an zivilen Instrumenten beinhaltet sowie multilateral und präventiv angelegt ist, versucht Deutschland, den neuen Herausforderungen gerecht zu werden. Hierzu gehören die Weiterentwicklung ihres sicherheitspolitischen Instrumentariums genauso wie die Bedrohungen durch Massenvernichtungswaffen und die mögliche Erosion der innenpolitischen Grundlagen deutscher Sicherheitspolitik.

Menschenrechte und internationale Sozialpolitik
Grenzen der Anarchie der Macht

Erfried Adam

April 2007

pdf herunterladen

Im Prozess der Globalisierung haben sich in den letzten Jahren die sozialen Unterschiede sowohl innerstaatlich als auch zwischen den Weltregionen weiter vertieft und der globale Beschäftigungswettbewerb hat sich verschärft. Menschenrechte und soziale Standards kommen vor diesem Hintergrund immer mehr unter Druck und der Kampf um soziale Rechte verlagert sich auf die internationale Ebene. In den nächsten zehn Jahren werden über eine Milliarde junger Menschen zur arbeitsfähigen Bevölkerung hinzustoßen – das Gros davon in den Entwicklungsländern, die diesen Zuwachs ökonomisch, sozial und politisch am wenigsten verkraften können.
Neben der Stärkung der bestehenden Regime in der Menschenrechts- und internationalen Sozialpolitik wird es in den kommenden Jahren besonders darauf ankommen, eine verbesserte Koordination zwischen den internationalen Organisationen aber auch den Politiken in den Mitgliedstaaten selbst zu erreichen, die Kernarbeitsnormen in den Abkommen zur Handelspolitik zu verankern sowie Menschenrechtsnormen für die Wirtschaft zu entwickeln und durchzusetzen.

Demokratie im Aufwind?
Außenpolitische Strategien der Demokratieförderung

Marika Lerch

Juni 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Welt ist zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts freier und demokratischer als je zuvor. Allerdings ist der Trend zu einer demokratischen Welt voller Widersprüche. Die meisten Staaten, die in den letzten 30 Jahren Reformprozesse eingeleitet haben, sind vom Status einer konsolidierten Demokratie weit entfernt; defekte Demokratien und semi-autoritäre Regime weisen äußerst ungünstige Bedingungen für eine erfolgreiche Transformation auf. Zugleich verschieben sich die Machtverhältnisse zuungunsten der alten Demokratien, autoritäre Regime nutzen diesen Spielraum, um internationale Demokratisierungsbemühungen rechtlich und diplomatisch zurückzudrängen. Die Erfolgsbedingungen für Demokratieförderung werden härter – aus langfristigem Eigeninteresse an einer demokratisch regierten Welt sollte Deutschland jedoch daran festhalten.

Energiesicherheit
Neue Knappheiten, das Wiederaufleben des Ressourcennationalismus und die Aussichten für multilaterale Ansätze

Dietmar Dirmoser

August 2007

pdf herunterladen

Der Preisschub der letzten Jahre hat verdeutlicht, dass Knappheit von Öl und Gas und daraus resultierende Versorgungsengpässe und Lieferschwierigkeiten wieder vorstellbar sind. Ein Wettlauf um die Zugriffsmöglichkeiten auf Energieträger hat begonnen, der leicht in einen „neuen kalten Krieg“ oder „heiße Ressourcenkriege“ ausarten kann, denn die meisten Staaten der Welt sind auf Energieimporte angewiesen. Die Regierungen haben die Wahl zwischen einerseits einer ressourcennationalistischen Strategie mit einer bilateral ausgerichteten Energiebeschaffungsdiplomatie und dem Einsatz von Druckmitteln und andererseits einem multilateralen Ansatz mit dem Ziel, das internationale Energiesystem für alle Beteiligten gleichermaßen vorteilhaft zu gestalten. Der Beitrag diskutiert die Herausforderungen für eine nachhaltige deutsche Energiesicherheitspolitik und formuliert dabei Handlungsoptionen in diesem schwierigen Politikfeld zwischen Konfliktregionen, regierungskontrollierten Energiekonzernen und zunehmender Konkurrenz zwischen den Verbraucherstaaten.

Religion und Politik
Ein neu belebtes Spannungsfeld

Thomas Meyer

April 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Religionen sind in die Politik zurück gekehrt. Neben der persönlichen Religiosität im Rahmen respektierter rechtsstaatlicher Demokratie lebt die politisierte Religion der fundamentalistischen Machtansprüche in allen Kulturkreisen auf und greift mancherorts sogar nach der Macht im Staat. Erfolg versprechend für die Eindämmung der fundamentalistischen Versuchung ist eine Politik der Anerkennung. Sie verbindet die Bekundung des gleichen Werts jeder religiösen Identität mit einem Engagement für den fairen Zugang aller zu den sozialen und ökonomischen Ressourcen der Weltgesellschaft.

Die Europäische Union und der postkommunistische Raum
Integration, europäische Nachbarschaftspolitik und strategische Partnerschaft

Michael Ehrke

Mai 2007

pdf herunterladen

Mit der Osterweiterung der EU wurde der einst als homogen wahrgenommene Ostblock in zwei Segmente geteilt: in die zentraleuropäischen Mitgliedsstaaten und die Nichtmitgliedsstaaten aus Ost- und Südosteuropa. Während für die neuen Mitgliedsstaaten eine weitere Transformation und Integration erwartet wird, ist das Verhältnis der EU zu den Nichtmitgliedern durch Unsicherheit über die weitere Entwicklung der Gesellschaften und die Auswirkungen auf die EU geprägt. Die Zukunft der EU-Ostbeziehungen wird davon abhängen, ob und in welchem Ausmaß sich der für Zentraleuropa angestrebte "virtuous circle" durchhalten lässt und der erfolgreiche Transformationsprozess auf die anderen Länder ausstrahlt. Die EU sollte darauf achten, dass sie sich ihre wirksamste politische Waffe, das Angebot der Mitgliedschaft, nicht aus der Hand nehmen lässt, und abgestufte Integrationspolitiken sowie Nachbarschafspolitiken darauf ausrichten.

Die transatlantischen Beziehungen
Der Westen gemeinsam auf dem Weg zu neuen Ufern

Almut Wieland-Karimi

Juni 2007

pdf herunterladen

In der transatlantischen Partnerschaft wächst das gegenseitige Misstrauen. Der Irak-Krieg hat die Kluft zwischen den USA und Europa zwar weiter vertieft, die Risse im Westen aber waren schon länger sichtbar. Immer weniger gelang es den Regierungen diesseits und jenseits des Atlantiks, in wichtigen Fragen der internationalen Politik gemeinsame Positionen zu entwickeln. Während die transatlantische Wirtschaft – der stabilste und am stärksten vernetzte Bereich der Kooperation – vom Streit kaum berührt wurde, wird bei den Konflikten in der Sicherheitspartnerschaft deutlich, dass die transatlantischen Beziehungen eine neue Grundlage brauchen. Eine Rückkehr zu den vertrauten Rollen scheint nicht möglich; ohne eine kooperative Zusammenarbeit mit den USA können jedoch die meisten außenpolitischen Ziele Deutschlands schlechter oder gar nicht erreicht werden. Durch pragmatische und zielorientierte Projekte z.B. im Bereich der Klimapolitik, der Energiesicherheit oder des Welthandels könnte das Fundament der politischen Beziehungen neu aufgebaut werden.

Internationale Klimapolitik 2020
Herausforderungen für die deutsche (Umwelt-) Außenpolitik

Hermann E. Ott

Juli 2007

pdf herunterladen

Der Klimawandel entwickelt sich zunehmend zu einem zentralen Thema der deutschen Außenpolitik und der internationalen Zusammenarbeit. Aufgrund der sehr langfristigen Wirkungszusammenhänge und der vielfach ungerechten Verteilung der Auswirkungen ist er eine echte Herausforderung für die gesamte Menschheit. Die daraus resultierenden Probleme sind intellektueller, konzeptioneller und organisatorischer Art, denn die Klimafrage als Ganze zeichnet sich durch ihre hochkomplexe Struktur aus. Die Auswirkungen menschlichen Handelns zeigen sich erst mit langer Verzögerung, sie treffen vielfach nicht die Verursacher, sondern andere und die Quellen des Klimawandels sind millionenfach über den gesamten Erdball verteilt. Der Beitrag entwickelt drei Szenarien, in denen die Folgen aktueller und zukünftiger Klimapolitik deutlich werden. Darauf aufbauend gibt er Empfehlungen für eine glaubwürdige nationale Klimapolitik Deutschlands.

Terrorismus im 21. Jahrhundert
Der Rechtsstaat als Leitlinie für die deutsche Politik

Peter R. Neumann

Februar 2009

pdf herunterladen

Seit 2001 stellt der globale Terrorismus eine der größten inländischen und internationalenHerausforderungen für Deutschland dar. In dem vorliegenden Text umreißt Peter R. Neumann die wichtigsten Einflüsse, die für die Transformation des Terrorismus in den letzten drei
Jahrzehnten relevant waren: Die Bedrohung durch den salafitischen dschihadistischen Terrorismus, seine Entwicklung seit den Anschlägen vom 11. September 2001 und der nachfolgende ‚Krieg gegen den Terror’ werden beleuchtet. Der Text untersucht außerdem, wie die deutsche Politik auf diese Herausforderungen reagiert hat. Deutschland hat auf der internationalen Ebene den multilateralen Ansatz betont, sich gegen den Irak-Krieg positioniert und die Notwendigkeit unterstrichen, vielmehr die Entstehungsursachen des Terrorismus als nur seine gewaltsamen Manifestationen zu bekämpfen. Berlin ist in allen internationalen Foren aktiv und spielt eine positive Rolle bei den Bemühungen, einen integrierteren Rahmen für eine rechtsstaatlich basierte Terrorismusbekämpfung zu schaffen.

Zwischen Protektionismus und Multilateralismus – Szenarien für die Weltwirtschaftsornung von Morgen

Winfried Veit

September 2009

pdf herunterladen

Die gegenwärtige Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise zeigt die Notwendigkeit einer fundamentalen Reform des institutionellen Rahmens zur besseren Regulierung der globalen Wirtschafts- und Währungs-, Handels und Finanzbeziehungen. Ob es zu einer solchen Reform kommt und wie sie letztendlich aussehen wird, ist gleichwohl offen.
Mit einem Team von insgesamt 25 Experten aus 17 Ländern hat das Büro Genf der Friedrich-Ebert-Stiftung zwischen Frühjahr 2008 und Frühjahr 2009 Szenarien entwickelt, die Antwort auf die Frage geben sollen, wie sich die Organisation der Weltwirtschaft in Zukunft entwickeln wird. Das Team hat als Ergebnis des Zusammenspiels wichtiger Einflussfaktoren und kritischer Unsicherheiten vier alternative und mehr oder weniger wünschenswerte Zustände der Weltwirtschaftsordnung im Jahre 2020 identifiziert. Deren Ausgestaltung sowie deren Konsequenzen für die Weltwirtschaft sind in den Szenarien beschrieben. Ziel der Szenarien ist es, politische Entscheidungsträger für die möglichen Konsequenzen ihres Tuns – für politisches Handeln wie für politisches Nichtstun – zu sensibilisieren und die laufende Debatte um die Reform der Weltwirtschaftsordnung um einen etwas anderen Blickwinkel zu bereichern.

Publikationsdownload | Kontakt & Impressum