Logo der FES: Link zur FES-HauptseiteCompass 2020 - Germany in inernational relations - Aims, instruments, prospects. Link to the site introduction

Die Regionen im Ueberblick

The Balkans
On War, Peace and Europe

Britta Joerißen

January 2007

pdf download

Hardly any other development in the last 15 years has shaped German and European foreign policy as much as the events in the Balkans. This article will discuss the central challenges presented by this region, outlining three possible scenarios for developments in the Balkans in the next 15 years and setting out plans of action for German and European policy. How these countries make their way into the European Union will depend not least on Germany‘s commitment as one of the strongest advocates for the countries of South-East Europe.

China
Its struggle for stabilization and equal status

Bernd Reddies

May 2007

pdf download

China's rapid economic rise is being watched in Europe with a mixture of fascination and horror. China‘s advance to become one of the leading economic powers has already left its mark on the political landscape. China‘s changeover to a differentiated and more active foreign policy is being reflected in greater involvement in regional and global fora. The central problem remains the political, social and ecological structuring of the economic transformation process. From a German perspective, the most significant tasks in the coming years will be the development of economic relations, the continuation of the dialogue on the rule of law and the incorporation of China into multilateral agreements (above all in the area of climate policy).

European Integration
Prospects for the future as a security and welfare union

Christos Katsioulis & Gero Maaß

March 2007

pdf download

The European Union as a unique constellation of supranational and intergovernmental norms is currently facing huge challenges: The expansion to encompass 27 states has been completed, yet the institutional architecture is trailing far behind what is required. After the rejection of the EU constitution by France and the Netherlands, reform of the union has been placed on hold for the time being. On top of this, a deep gulf between the individual states and the EU is becoming apparent.
This article sets out possible scenarios for the future development of the European Union against the backdrop of these challenges and identifies possible plans of action for Germany‘s European policy.

India
Challenges On The Road To Becoming A World Power

Peter Gey, Matthias Jobelius & Renate Tenbusch

September 2007

pdf download

India is getting ready to close the gap to the economic powers, due to high economic growth which reached 8 percent in each of the last four years. Experts from the media, investment banks and research institutes all agree: a second China is growing up, an economical and political power center which will surpass Germany and Japan in a few years. At the same time, India faces big challenges. Due to a decade-long orientation of the investments on the heavy industry, the neglect of the infrastructure and the educational system, rigid work laws and bureaucratic regulation, structural shiftings arose which are difficult to overcome.

Latin America
A lot of democracy, not much state and even less social progress

Wolf Grabendorff

April 2007

pdf download

Despite good economic growth and relatively stable, superficially democratic conditions, the Latin America countries are increasingly facing social problems. The gulf between rich and poor is becoming wider, while the ability of the state to exercise influence over internal social developments is waning and, in foreign policy terms too, the region is confronting conflicting interests. The development of Latin America – and thereby also cooperation with Germany and the EU – depends largely upon the extent to which the governments in the region are willing and able to set about implementing both social welfare reforms and reforms to bolster democracy, in addition to reducing numerous intraregional tensions. Through better multilateral integration of important nations on the continent, Latin America could become a key partner for Europe in international institutions.

The Middle East and North Africa
A Gridlocked Region at a Crossroads

Andrä Gärber

January 2007

pdf download

The region of the Near and Middle East and North Africa is afflicted by the curse of a serious road block in both democratic and developmental terms, attributable to a crippling combination of substantial political conflict and the authoritarian structure of the majority of the regimes found here. If the conflicts in this region and these structural problems remain unsolved, then, from a German and a European perspective, this inevitably also increases the dangers to Germany's and Europe's own security, stability and prosperity.
This article sets out possible future scenarios and offers possible plans of action for German and international policy. Only a concerted international effort with an integrated policy approach can defuse the crisis in the region. Due to its political and economic significance and its relations with the key actors, Germany can make an important contribution to this effort.

The European Union and the Post-Communist Sphere
Integration, European Neighbourhood Policy and Strategic Partnership

Michael Ehrke

May 2007

pdf download

With the eastward expansion of the EU, the former Eastern Bloc, once perceived as a homogeneous whole, has been divided into two parts: the central European member states and the non-member states in Eastern and South-Eastern Europe. While further transformation and integration is expected for the new member states, the EU's relationship with the non-members is coloured by uncertainty about the further development of these societies and the effects of this on the EU. The future of the EU's relations with the Eastern nations will depend on whether and to what extent the 'virtuous circle' being aimed at in Central Europe can be maintained and on whether the successful transformation process has a positive impact radiating out to the other countries. The EU should ensure that it does not allow its most effective political weapon, the offer of membership, to be snatched out of its hands and should direct step-by-step integration policies and neighbourhood policies towards this area.

The Main Features of a German Strategy towards Russia

Matthes Buhbe

March 2007

pdf download

Germany is surrounded by a "circle of friends", all of whom belong to the EU save Switzerland. It has an interest in the expansion of the EU institutions and wants to strengthen common foreign and security policy. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Russia underwent a process of progressive disintegration and is now returning to the world stage, on which NATO and the EU have continually advanced closer to its national borders. Russia has not quite formed a "circle of foes", yet its new friends in the Euro-Atlantic region are being increasingly viewed as geopolitical rivals.
This article sets out possible scenarios for a future German 'Russia strategy' and advises Germany to adopt a strategy of partnership which – by way of growing interdependencies – will, in the worst case scenario, prevent relations taking divergent paths and, in the best case scenario, result in the integration of Russia into the Euro-Atlantic institutions.

Sub-Saharan Africa
The Rediscovery of a Continent

Ulrich Golaszinski

May 2007

pdf download>

In sub-Saharan Africa, a change has been taking place over the last 15 years that at least shows another side to this crisis-ridden continent. The economies are growing steadily, while in many countries, formal parliamentary democracies are being established and Africa is organising itself into regional and subregional units and is now again gaining in strategic significance. Nevertheless, the countries of the region are still facing great challenges: Africa remains an impoverished continent with grave social and health problems, while the democracies are not consolidated as yet and violent conflicts continue to impede development in some regions of Africa. In order to support the positive developments taking place, the foremost issues from a German perspective will be those of crisis prevention, the development of strategies for adapting to climate change and the promotion of the integration of Africa into the world market.

Southeast Asia
The Future of German Foreign Relations

Sebsatian Bersick & Paul Pasch

November 2007

pdf download

A peaceful and economically thriving Asian region is an integral part of the newly emerging organization structures in Asia. It’s in the EU’s and Germany’s interests that the developing norms and codices for the behaviour of states in Asia make cooperative operation schemes imperative - instead of military schemes. Against this background, ASEAN is the most important contact organization of the EU and Germany for accompanying and supporting the cooperation and integration process in South-East-Asia. An intensified cooperation and a stronger institutional binding of the EU to ASEAN will enable the Europeans to continue to ensure and, in the future, augment their forming influence on the integration processes in South-East-Asia. ASEAN has a growing strategic potential where the re-structuring of the regional architecture of Asia is concerned. But the efficiency of the cooperation between the ASEAN states will in the end not depend on declarations and documents of ASEAN but on the actions and the politics of the individual ASEAN states.

Transatlantic Relations
Together the West is Exploring New Shores

Almut Wieland-Karimi

June 2007

pdf download

In the transatlantic relations, mutual distrust is growing. The Iraq war has deepened the rift between the U.S. and Europe but the cracks in the West have already been apparent for some time. Less and less the governments on both sides of the Atlantic were able to develop common positions with regard to important international political issues. While the transatlantic economy - the most stable and strongest interconnected area of cooperation - was hardly affected by the controversy, it becomes apparent where the conflicts in the security partnership are concerned that the transatlantic relations need a new basis. A reversion to the familiar roles seems not to be possible; but without a constructive cooperation with the U.S. most of the foreign policy aims of Germany can only be fulfilled with difficulties or not at all. Through pragmatic and goal-oriented projects, e.g. in the range of climate politics, energy security or world trade, the groundwork of political relations could be re-established.

Central Asia
The Struggle for Power, Energy and Human Rights

Reinhard Krumm

January 2007

pdf download

The five central Asian republics are still, 15 years after independence, in a process of transition from the Soviet planned economy system to a type of market economy, from totalitarianism to controlled democracy. Future development in this region – between thaw and Ice Age – will show whether it will emphatically pursue the course of transformation to democracy or will set up a superficial type of democracy that claims to be taking account of the special idiosyncrasies of the region in terms of cultural approach and history. Germany is making an effort to secure lasting stability in Central Asia. In addition to the concerns regarding security and stability, economic and energy interests and the rule of law, top priorities could also be the promotion of regional cooperation, an initiative to improve education and training and the stepping up of political dialogue.

Contact & Imprint

Logo der FES: Link zur FES-HauptseiteKompass 2020 - Deutschland in den internationalen Beziehungen - Ziele, Instrumente, Perspektiven. Link zur Introseite der Site

Die Regionen im Ueberblick

Der Balkan
Von Krieg, Frieden und Europa

Britta Joerißen

Januar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Kaum eine andere Entwicklung in den letzten 15 Jahren hat die deutsche und europäische Außenpolitik so stark geprägt wie die Ereignisse auf dem Balkan. Der Beitrag diskutiert die zentralen Herausforderungen dieser Region, entwirft drei Szenarien zur Entwicklung des Balkans in den nächsten 15 Jahren und formuliert Handlungsoptionen für die deutsche und europäische Politik. Nicht zuletzt auch vom Engagement Deutschlands, das als einer der stärksten Anwälte für die Länder Südosteuropas gilt, wird es abhängen, wie die Länder ihren Weg in die Europäische Union finden.

China
Kampf um Augenhöhe und Stabilisierung

Bernd Reddies

Mai 2007

pdf herunterladen

Chinas rasanter ökonomischer Aufstieg wird in Europa mit einer Mischung aus Faszination und Schrecken betrachtet. Der Vorstoß des Reichs der Mitte in den Kern der führenden Wirtschaftsnationen hinterlässt auch auf der politischen Landkarte bereits seine Spuren. Der Wechsel Chinas zu einer differenzierteren und aktiveren Außenpolitik spiegelt sich in einem stärkeren Engagement in regionalen und globalen Foren wider. Das zentrale Problem bleibt die politische, soziale und ökologische Gestaltung des wirtschaftlichen Transformationsprozesses. Aus deutscher Sicht werden der Ausbau der wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen, die Fortführung des Rechtsstaatsdialogs sowie die Einbindung Chinas in multilaterale Verträge (vor allem im Bereich der Klimapolitik) herausragende Aufgaben in den kommenden Jahren sein.

Europäische Integration
Zukunftsperspektiven als Sicherheits- und Wohlfahrtsunion

Christos Katsioulis & Gero Maaß

März 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Europäische Union als einzigartiges Gebilde aus supranationalen und intergouvernementalen Normen und Institutionen steht vor gewaltigen Herausforderungen: Die Erweiterung auf 27 Staaten ist vollzogen, doch die institutionelle Architektur hinkt dieser Entwicklung weit hinterher. Nach der Ablehnung des Verfassungsvertrages in Frankreich und den Niederlanden ist die Reform der Union vorerst auf Eis gelegt, zudem zeichnet sich eine tiefe Kluft zwischen den Gesellschaften und der EU ab.
Der Beitrag entwickelt vor dem Hintergrund dieser Herausforderungen mögliche Szenarien zur künftigen Entwicklung der Europäischen Union und zeigt Handlungsoptionen für die deutsche Europapolitik auf.

Indien
Herausforderungen auf dem Weg zur Weltmacht

Peter Gey, Matthias Jobelius & Renate Tenbusch

September 2007

pdf herunterladen

Indien schickt sich an, durch ein hohes Wirtschaftswachstum, das in den vergangenen vier Jahren jeweils 8 Prozent erreichte, zu den Wirtschaftsmächten aufzuschließen. Fachleute aus Medienhäusern, Investmentbanken und Forschungsinstituten stimmen darin überein: Hier wächst ein zweites China heran, ein wirtschaftliches und politisches Kraftzentrum, das in wenigen Jahren Deutschland und Japan überrunden wird.
Gleichzeitig steht Indien aber vor großen Herausforderungen. Infolge einer jahrzehntelangen Ausrichtung der Investitionen auf die Schwerindustrie, der Vernachlässigung der Infrastruktur und des Bildungswesens, rigider Arbeitsgesetze und bürokratischer Regulierung sind strukturelle Verwerfungen entstanden, die nur schwer zu überwinden sind.

Lateinamerika
Viel Demokratie, wenig Staat und kaum sozialer Fortschritt

Wolf Grabendorff

April 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Staaten Lateinamerikas sehen sich trotz des guten Wirtschaftswachstums und relativ stabiler formaldemokratischer Verhältnisse in zunehmendem Maße gesellschaftlichen Problemen ausgesetzt: Die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich wird größer, die Fähigkeit des Staates, Einfluss auf innergesellschaftliche Entwicklungen auszuüben, nimmt ab, und auch außenpolitisch sieht sich die Region mit widerstreitenden Interessen konfrontiert. Die Entwicklung Lateinamerikas und damit auch die Zusammenarbeit mit Deutschland und der EU hängen zu einem großen Teil davon ab, inwiefern die Regierungen in der Region bereit und fähig sind, sowohl soziale und demokratiestärkende Reformen anzugehen als auch die zahlreichen intraregionalen Spannungen abzubauen. Durch eine bessere multilaterale Einbindung wichtiger Länder des Kontinents könnte Lateinamerika zu einem zentralen Partner Europas in den internationalen Institutionen werden. 

Der Nahe/Mittlere Osten und Nordafrika
Die blockierte Region am Scheideweg

Andrä Gärber

Januar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die Region des Nahen/Mittleren Ostens und Nordafrikas leidet unter einem ausgeprägten Demokratie- und Entwicklungsstau, der auf die lähmende Mischung aus einem hohen Maß an politischen Konflikten und der autoritären Struktur der meisten Regime zurück zu führen ist. Bleiben diese Konflikte und strukturellen Probleme weiterhin ungelöst, erhöhen sich aus deutscher und europäischer Perspektive auch zwangsläufig die Gefahren für die eigene Sicherheit, Stabilität und Prosperität.
Der Beitrag entwickelt denkbare Szenarien für die Zukunft und gibt Handlungsoptionen für die deutsche und internationale Politik. Nur ein gemeinsamer internationaler Vorstoß mit einem politischen Gesamtkonzept kann die Krise in der Region entschärfen. Deutschland kann aufgrund seiner politischen und wirtschaftlichen Bedeutung und seiner Beziehungen zu den entscheidenden Akteuren hierzu einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten.

Die Europäische Union und der postkommunistische Raum
Integration, europäische Nachbarschaftspolitik und strategische Partnerschaft

Michael Ehrke

Mai 2007

pdf herunterladen

Mit der Osterweiterung der EU wurde der einst als homogen wahrgenommene Ostblock in zwei Segmente geteilt: in die zentraleuropäischen Mitgliedsstaaten und die Nichtmitgliedsstaaten aus Ost- und Südosteuropa. Während für die neuen Mitgliedsstaaten eine weitere Transformation und Integration erwartet wird, ist das Verhältnis der EU zu den Nichtmitgliedern durch Unsicherheit über die weitere Entwicklung der Gesellschaften und die Auswirkungen auf die EU geprägt. Die Zukunft der EU-Ostbeziehungen wird davon abhängen, ob und in welchem Ausmaß sich der für Zentraleuropa angestrebte "virtuous circle" durchhalten lässt und der erfolgreiche Transformationsprozess auf die anderen Länder ausstrahlt. Die EU sollte darauf achten, dass sie sich ihre wirksamste politische Waffe, das Angebot der Mitgliedschaft, nicht aus der Hand nehmen lässt, und abgestufte Integrationspolitiken sowie Nachbarschafspolitiken darauf ausrichten.

Grundzüge einer deutschen Russland-Strategie

Matthes Buhbe

März 2007

pdf herunterladen

Russland kehrt heute auf eine Weltbühne zurück, auf der NATO und EU den eigenen Landesgrenzen ständig näher gerückt sind. Es hat sich zwar kein „Ring von Feinden“ gebildet, doch die neuen Freunde im euro-atlantischen Raum werden zunehmend als geopolitische Rivalen wahrgenommen.
Der Beitrag entwickelt Szenarien für eine künftige deutsche Russland-Strategie und rät Deutschland eine Strategie der Partnerschaft, die auf dem Wege wachsender Interdependenzen im schlechtesten Fall eine divergente Entwicklung der Beziehungen verhindert und im besten Fall zur Integration Russlands in die euro-atlantischen Institutionen führt.

Sub-Sahara Afrika
Die Wiederentdeckung eines Kontinents

Ulrich Golaszinski

Mai 2007

pdf herunterladen

In Subsahara-Afrika hat sich in den vergangenen 15 Jahren ein Wandel vollzogen, der das Bild vom krisengeschüttelten Kontinent zumindest ergänzt: Die Ökonomien wachsen stetig, in vielen Ländern wurden formale parlamentarische Demokratien etabliert, Afrika organisiert sich in regionalen und subregionalen Einheiten und gewinnt insgesamt wieder an strategischer Bedeutung. Dennoch stehen die Länder der Region nach wie vor vor großen Herausforderungen: Afrika bleibt ein Armutskontinent mit gravierenden sozialen und gesundheitlichen Problemen, die Demokratien sind bisher nicht konsolidiert und gewalttätige Konflikte hemmen nach wie vor die Entwicklung in einigen Regionen Afrikas. Um die positiven Entwicklungen zu unterstützen, werden aus deutscher Sicht in den kommenden Jahren Fragen der Krisenprävention, die Entwicklung von Strategien zur Anpassung an den Klimawandel sowie die Förderung der Integration Afrikas in den Weltmarkt im Vordergrund stehen.

Südostasien

Sebastian Bersick & Paul Pasch

November 2007

pdf herunterladen

Eine friedliche und wirtschaftlich prosperierende asiatische Region ist ein zentraler Bestandteil sich neu formierender Ordnungsstrukturen in Asien. Es liegt im Interesse der EU und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, dass die in der Entstehung begriffenen Normen und Regeln für das Verhalten von Staaten in Asien kooperative Handlungsmuster zwingend erforderlich machen – anstelle von militärischen. Vor diesem Hintergrund stellt die ASEAN den wichtigsten Ansprechpartner der EU und Deutschlands dar, um den Kooperations- und Integrationsprozess in Südostasien zu begleiten sowie zu unterstützen. Durch verstärkte Zusammenarbeit und eine stärkere institutionelle Anbindung der EU an die ASEAN können die Europäer ihren gestaltenden Einfluss auf die Integrationsprozesse in Südostasien sowie Ostasien weiterhin gewährleisten und zukünftig erhöhen. Der ASEAN kommt hinsichtlich der Neuordnung der regionalen Architektur Asiens ein wachsendes strategisches Potential zu. Die Effizienz der Zusammenarbeit der ASEAN-Staaten wird jedoch letztlich nicht von den Erklärungen und Dokumenten der ASEAN abhängen, sondern von den Handlungen und der Politik der einzelnen ASEAN-Staaten.

Die transatlantischen Beziehungen
Der Westen gemeinsam auf dem Weg zu neuen Ufern

Almut Wieland-Karimi

Juni 2007

pdf herunterladen

In der transatlantischen Partnerschaft wächst das gegenseitige Misstrauen. Der Irak-Krieg hat die Kluft zwischen den USA und Europa zwar weiter vertieft, die Risse im Westen aber waren schon länger sichtbar. Immer weniger gelang es den Regierungen diesseits und jenseits des Atlantiks, in wichtigen Fragen der internationalen Politik gemeinsame Positionen zu entwickeln. Während die transatlantische Wirtschaft – der stabilste und am stärksten vernetzte Bereich der Kooperation – vom Streit kaum berührt wurde, wird bei den Konflikten in der Sicherheitspartnerschaft deutlich, dass die transatlantischen Beziehungen eine neue Grundlage brauchen. Eine Rückkehr zu den vertrauten Rollen scheint nicht möglich; ohne eine kooperative Zusammenarbeit mit den USA können jedoch die meisten außenpolitischen Ziele Deutschlands schlechter oder gar nicht erreicht werden. Durch pragmatische und zielorientierte Projekte z.B. im Bereich der Klimapolitik, der Energiesicherheit oder des Welthandels könnte das Fundament der politischen Beziehungen neu aufgebaut werden.

Zentralasien
Kampf um Macht, Energie und Menschenrechte

Reinhard Krumm

Januar 2007

pdf herunterladen

Die fünf zentralasiatischen Republiken befinden sich nach 15 Jahren Unabhängigkeit weiterhin im Prozess des Systemwandels von der sowjetischen Planwirtschaft zu einer Art Marktwirtschaft, vom Totalitarismus zur gelenkten Demokratie. Die künftige Entwicklung – zwischen Tauwetter und Eiszeit – wird zeigen, ob die Region eine demokratische Transformation mit Nachdruck betreiben wird oder eine Fassadendemokratie errichtet, die angeblich die Besonderheiten der Mentalität und der Geschichte berücksichtigt. Deutschland bemüht sich um eine dauerhafte Stabilisierung Zentralasiens. Dazu könnten neben Sicherheit und Stabilität, Wirtschafts- und Energieinteressen und Rechtsstaatlichkeit auch die Förderung der regionalen Zusammenarbeit, eine Initiative zur Verbesserung der Ausbildung und die Intensivierung des politischen Dialogs auf höchster Ebene zählen.

Publikationsdownload | Kontakt & Impressum